Simply Maya User Community

Simply Maya User Community (https://simplymaya.com/forum/index.php)
-   Work In Progress (https://simplymaya.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=34)
-   -   FW 190 (https://simplymaya.com/forum/showthread.php?t=36625)

PixalZA 28-10-2011 07:18 PM

FW 190

1 Attachment(s)
I have been messing around with Maya now for a couple of months. Getting to grips with the software, doing a couple of tuts and generally just experimenting. The time has come to seriously start working on my modelling skills. As a hobbyist I figured the only way I'll improve is to start a project and post my progress here.

Got my inspiration from some of the excellent work currently posted here as well as having a keen interest of anything WWII. I decided to represent the Axis powers and make my project the Focke Wulf 190 A8 (Butcher Bird).

The first image of my progress: (Haven't figured out the AO rendering yet)
The rear part of the fuselage so far. Still a couple of hatches and panels to add. Once that's done then time for the canopy. Doing it separately as I have in mind to have this parked under some camouflage nets with the canopy and some of the panels open.

I am still very new to hard surface modelling so all criticism, tips, hints and help will be appreciated.

THExDUKE 28-10-2011 07:48 PM

Hey there,

you are right, learning by projects is great and can be fun or frustration on the same side :D ! That looks like a good start although it seems already very detailed. Maybe you already have too much edgeloops here. You should go first very rough and keep your polycount quite low. Start creating the shape and its big sections first. Maybe the mainbody, wings, engine etc. You´ll get detailled enough later. If you start by a too dense mesh now, you´ll could get into trouble later, when its time to work out the actual details or you need to fix some bad areas then you have to work with a lot of vertices! ;)

For your AO render!