Simply Maya User Community

Simply Maya User Community (https://simplymaya.com/forum/index.php)
-   Programming (https://simplymaya.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=32)
-   -   Propeller or Turbine rotation (https://simplymaya.com/forum/showthread.php?t=11404)

djknucklez 13-04-2004 11:04 PM

Propeller or Turbine rotation
 
I'm animating a turbine engine kind of like the one in the pod race inStar Wars episode 1. Is there a Mel script to make the turbine turn all the time without having it to key frame it?

Pony 14-04-2004 12:59 AM

just use a exprestion.. there just what you want. there will be sevral examples in the help files for just what your wanting to do with rotation based on time.

kbrown 14-04-2004 01:52 AM

Let's say your object is named propeller and you want to rotate it around the Z axis. Then the expression could be as easy as:

propeller.rz = frame;

If you want to control the speed, you could add a custom attribute to your object (let's say speed) and change the expression to:

propeller.rz = frame * propeller.speed;

This way you can key the speed attribute and control the speed of the rotation.

Dann 15-04-2004 05:09 AM

Why not just keyframe 10 frames and then set it to cycle with offset. It will spin forever.


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:54 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Simply Maya 2018