Simply Maya User Community

Simply Maya User Community (https://simplymaya.com/forum/index.php)
-   Work In Progress (https://simplymaya.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=34)
-   -   WIP Haunted House Tutorial (https://simplymaya.com/forum/showthread.php?t=32201)

3dagent 05-04-2009 03:37 AM

WIP Haunted House Tutorial

1 Attachment(s)
hey guys,

first of all, i'm new to 3d modelling so i got the haunted house tutorial, which is really nice to understand! but i have one little problem, please see my rendering, there a strange black lines at my model and i just don't know why.

maybe someone has an idea, could be like a typical beginners-fault?

greetz,
3dagent

ctbram 05-04-2009 05:42 AM

Please post your render settings.

3dagent 05-04-2009 12:27 PM

1 Attachment(s)
hey,

okay, i screenshoted the actual render settings but i didn't changed them except for the quality..., like in the haunted house tutorial video. i'm using maya 2008, could it has something to do with my hardware?

3dagent 05-04-2009 12:51 PM

1 Attachment(s)
okay, i changed the light-settings a little bit, first my bias was 0 but i now i set it up to .3, the strange black lines disappeared, but the next thing is my shadow, look at the stilts, the shadow has like a gap, the same below my cullis...

Rhetoric Camel 05-04-2009 05:57 PM

it looks like you're getting a gap in your shadows because they're not actually touching the ground, make those posts go into the ground and see if that helps.

This was the second tutorial I did and it was a big help for me, you're doing a good job so far, can't wait to see the progress. KUTGW :beer:

3dagent 05-04-2009 11:44 PM

1 Attachment(s)
well, the weird thing is, i am actually touching the ground with everything, but the higher i set bias, the more distance i get...