Simply Maya User Community

Simply Maya User Community (https://simplymaya.com/forum/index.php)
-   Previous Challenges (Archives) (https://simplymaya.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=45)
-   -   September Challenge - Scraggy_dogg - Noobie (https://simplymaya.com/forum/showthread.php?t=7748)

Scraggy_Dogg 01-09-2003 06:09 PM

September Challenge - Scraggy_dogg - Noobie

1 Attachment(s)
OK I have never done a Character before, and really want to but just in case the going get's tough I will model the character and just see how it turns out.
So with that in mind I will pick Numero Uno the Space thingy.
At least that way I don't have to submit if it's naff. :D

Hey BTW tell Kevin thanks :D
I nicked his 'Simple Man' tutorial to see how hard characters are.... And I like thes e Subdiv's :D
BTW Can I use Subdiv's? they are only sort of Poly's aren't they?
(please excuse my lack of understanding the basics)

Oh yeah BTW How do I Un-Triangulate? I had to Cntrl-Z out.

Regards Scraggy

Darkware 01-09-2003 06:16 PM

Don't think you will be able to use sub-divs seeing as how I doubt they are used in games. Polys only. No nurbs either. Also, I don't think you can un-triangulate. Triangulating is ment to be done when you are completely finished with your model. Usually, I model a little, triangulate to see how close my poly count comes to my cap, undo, then model some more, then triangulate again later, see how close I am to my poly limit, etc, etc until I realize that I shouldn't model any more because my poly count will go overboard. Then I triangulate permanentely.

Correct me if I'm wrong on any of that.

adldesigner 01-09-2003 06:22 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by Darkware