Simply Maya User Community

Simply Maya User Community (https://simplymaya.com/forum/index.php)
-   Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge (https://simplymaya.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=31)
-   -   hi! maya newbie here :-) (max user for 4 yrs help on clearing things up) (https://simplymaya.com/forum/showthread.php?t=2457)

pitbull 02-12-2002 12:45 AM

hi! maya newbie here :-) (max user for 4 yrs help on clearing things up)

hey!!!!! im new here :-)

ive been playing w maya for sometime now...i made a teddy bear..put fur on him...skinned him(mayas skinning sucks for me...or i havent seen the more fancy stuff)...heres one of my probs :-)...the bones act weird for me..the swivel angle(twist)seems erratic......and! in max...bones are the ones in between the joins...in maya..its the joints that define a bone....weird...can somebody explian this to me? or point to a cool tut on bones :-) thanks!!!!!

done flame me....im new here :-) flame me when im a regular here :-)

Kurt 02-12-2002 01:24 AM

If you can post up a picture, but it seems that you just have to set prefered angles on some of your joints. I'll be able to help ya out more once I see a picture.

Darkware 02-12-2002 03:14 AM

Welcome to Simply Maya, pitbull. Enjoy the site.

mtmckinley 02-12-2002 03:14 AM

I'm planning on a character rigging vid in the future... hopefully it'll help out some.

pitbull 02-12-2002 06:54 AM

thanks for the replies and enthusiasm :-)

its just that when i woved the helper(ikhandle)the arm just bloody twisted :-(..... this does happen in max too,but not like the ones i get in maya.....how do i set the pref angle? i have been looking for this feature for a long time....i suppose its in the att editor? thanks :-)

mtmckinley 02-12-2002 07:21 AM

Try freezing your skeleton's transformations and then applying it.

Kevin 02-12-2002 09:13 AM

welcome to the best maya site on the net pitbull!

pitbull 03-12-2002 02:46 AM

mckinley: uhm...how do i freeze it? sorry newbie here :-(