Simply Maya User Community

Simply Maya User Community (https://simplymaya.com/forum/index.php)
-   Maya Modeling (https://simplymaya.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=9)
-   -   Help on the Basic Dog tutorial (https://simplymaya.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1438)

Wolfie 04-10-2002 07:06 PM

Help on the Basic Dog tutorial

Hey Boys 'n gals ,
I could use some help on the Basic Dog tut featured on this site.

Got Maya 4.5 fired up.

Create Polygon > Cube
Smooth

Modify > convert polygon to subdiv

Right mouse click > Face

Edit Polygons > Extrude Face ...

then I get an error stating > Error : polyExtrudeFacet works on polygonal faces.

DOH ?

:(

Plz help me out here ...

vladan 04-10-2002 07:12 PM

When you convert Cube from polygon to subdiv you must use Subdv meni for editing not Edit poligons.

Or just convert beck to polygons then use Edit Polygons meni with
options for poly.

Cheer :)

Wolfie 04-10-2002 07:59 PM

hmm strange
It says so in the tutorial ... :(

I'm really a beginner , not so funny then when tuts don't go as planned ... makes you lose hope ...

can it be that my version is different from the one used in the tut ?

would be kinda weird, not ?

kbrown 04-10-2002 08:07 PM

Referring the text above: You have converted the model into a SubD. SubD's have two modes: polygon and standard. Before you can extrude a face you must be in polygon mode. This can be selected from Subdiv Surfaces -> Polygon Proxy Mode. Hope that helps...

vladan 04-10-2002 08:50 PM

Its no possible to work with polygonal tools on subdiv object.

This tut has error .Simple don`t convert poly in subdv. And try continue with tut.

Hope that helps.

vladan 04-10-2002 08:58 PM

Or maybe I wrong?

Quote:

Originally posted by kbrown
Referring the text above: You have converted the model into a SubD. SubD's have two modes: polygon and standard. Before you can extrude a face you must be in polygon mode. This can be selected from Subdiv Surfaces -> Polygon Proxy Mode. Hope that helps...