Simply Maya User Community

Simply Maya User Community (https://simplymaya.com/forum/index.php)
-   Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge (https://simplymaya.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=31)
-   -   how do i make an arch? (https://simplymaya.com/forum/showthread.php?t=9798)

fretnoize 13-01-2004 12:32 PM

how do i make an arch?

1 Attachment(s)
I just started learning maya the other day, so yes, this is a very newbie question. I am trying to make an simple arch with polygons. I've tried looking in my book, and through the website for a solution, but haven't found one that yeilds the result I want, so hopefully I'm not asking a redundant question.

I have taken a face and extruded the face along the curve, resulting in what you see in ex. 1. (hopefully my .jpg is attached correctly) While this is a good start, you can see that the arch does not lay flush with the right side. More so, even if I moved the verticies to be flush with the right side, my arch still would have be unevenly built (notice the shape of each polygon). So this isn't exactly what I want.

In Ex. 2 I used wedge faces and ended up nice even polygons, but I lose the flexibility of extruding and can't give the "arch" an inner radius to actually make it an arch, or use any of the interesting things it looks like you can do with extrude.

Anyway, I just want to know how to make a simple, even arch.

Alan 13-01-2004 12:58 PM

you can use a non-linear deformer called bend to do it. That should work. One other way is to create a cylinder then duplicate it and scale it down a bit but make sure it extends beyond the edges of the original one (length ways) then use a boolean to get the hole for the arch. Then delete the bottom half of the faces and voila one arch As long as the cylinders have the same properties you should get very clean geometry.

If you need more help or a better explanation just post your questions

Alan

roach105 13-01-2004 01:42 PM