Simply Maya User Community

Simply Maya User Community (https://simplymaya.com/forum/index.php)
-   Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge (https://simplymaya.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=31)
-   -   noise modifier for geometry? (https://simplymaya.com/forum/showthread.php?t=12662)

Binabik 19-07-2004 08:03 AM

noise modifier for geometry?
 
Am I asking to much for Maya to have something like this?
I am toooo used to max i know.

I have a flat desert plain, and I want to rough it up a bit, and I don't want to use displacement mapping, too calc intensive.

is there a way just to add a noise modifier to the geometry to rough it up a bit?


thanks.

Adam.

Alan 19-07-2004 08:19 AM

use displacement and then bake it. Or if it's nurbs you could use this script of mine:

global proc displaceCVs(float $minVal, float $maxVal)
{
$sel = `ls -sl`;

$Udiv = `getAttr $sel".spansU"`;
$Vdiv = `getAttr $sel".spansV"`;

//loop through the CVs and add random amounts to their y direction.

$i = 0;
for($i = 0; $i < $Udiv; $i++)
{
$j = 0;
for($j = 0; $j < $Vdiv; $j++)
{
select -r $sel.cv[$i][$j];
float $displace = `rand $minVal $maxVal`;
xform -r -t 0 $displace 0 ;
}
}
}


If you've got a poly surface it's the same idea.

Alan


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:31 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Simply Maya 2018