Simply Maya User Community

Simply Maya User Community (https://simplymaya.com/forum/index.php)
-   Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge (https://simplymaya.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=31)
-   -   ZBrush- Is it worth it? (https://simplymaya.com/forum/showthread.php?t=31368)

Agent_Dick 17-11-2008 05:30 AM

ZBrush- Is it worth it?

I've seen you lot do some pretty sweet looking stuff with zbrush, and frankly, I hate bumpmapping in every damn detail. So I ask you, is ZBrush worth the money and the time it takes to learn it? I know it's pretty unintuitive, but it seems pretty powerful and it seems that more and more animation and game design jobs are looking for people who can use it. What's your take?

Joopson 17-11-2008 05:35 AM

I say it is worth it, as it is becoming quite prominent in the 3D industry. Plus, it is fun

Jay 17-11-2008 01:21 PM

How can I put it:

Accept no substitutes. Ive been using Zb for near 2 years or so now and it gets better and better.

Whilst a little unorthodox in its approach when you first get into it you'll find that all that unfamiliarity goes after a day or so. Its like anything new in that respect.

For me its better than mudbox, which Ive tried and tested both versions, but found MB a little sluggish in areas where frankly it doesnt need to be. Plus its become almost a copy cat version with a few of the new features that were missing before...

As with all good kit, ZB offers a whole range of workflows for each individual, as we all use stuff a little different. For example, those wanting to painting on a 3d model and hate doing uvs, well dont worry, paint away and let Zbrush worry about the techy part. I could go on.

For the money you get a hell of a lot of software and then some. Once youve bought and registered your copy each upgrade after that is free! Yes Free!!