Simply Maya User Community

Simply Maya User Community (https://simplymaya.com/forum/index.php)
-   Previous Challenges (Archives) (https://simplymaya.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=45)
-   -   Nov/Dec - Noob - cris007 (https://simplymaya.com/forum/showthread.php?t=19231)

cris007 24-11-2005 12:34 PM

Nov/Dec - Noob - cris007

1 Attachment(s)
I'm almost a complete beginner with Maya, but I'm going to give this a shot. I decided i'm going to model a coffee machine and while i'm at it i figured i could learn how subdivisions work. Since it's the first time i'm using them i hope they're not going to give me too much of a hard time. Anyway here's a picture of the coffee machine i'm modeling. Unfortunately i wasn't able to find too many pictures of this model so i don't really think that my finished model will be identical, but i hope it will be as realistical as possible :)

cris007 24-11-2005 12:35 PM

1 Attachment(s)
And here's a quick rendering of my current progress:

magicsy 24-11-2005 01:42 PM

wow looks real good!
how long u been modeling seems very good to me.

R4s1n 24-11-2005 02:03 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Good start on the coffee machine. One thing i have noticed is not proportioned right. It need to be pulled back a bit to look like the picture.

cris007 24-11-2005 02:22 PM

Actually, i left that small gap there deliberately. If you look at the original version you'll notice that it doesn't connect to the back perfectly. There's a small "trench" going in between the pieces. It looks a bit strange at this stage, but i hope that it will look ok a little later on :). Will be posting some new progress soon.

Magicsy, thanks a lot for the compliment :) but i'm not nearly as good as you. I saw your dyson vacuum and i find it to be incredible. Keep up the good work :)

magicsy 24-11-2005 04:05 PM

:eek:
lol thanks for that. im only in my 6th or so week at using any modeling software.So any crit or comps is lovely!
Anyway good luck in the competition.:beer: