Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 25-05-2006, 02:42 AM   #1
xamagodx
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Moosomin, Sask, Canada
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Begginer

Hello all i just started useing maya, i'm not that good yet but just wait.

I was also wondering if there was an easy way to make a landscape, or could i possable get one from someone else?

Thanks
xamagodx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-05-2006, 02:55 AM   #2
MattTheMan
Registered User
 
MattTheMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Fairfield, CT
Posts: 2,436
Thanks: 0
Thanked 18 Times in 18 Posts
Default

welcome to simply maya!

Well, you can always use a displacement map, or you can make a Nurbs Plane, right click, select cv's and move them to make like hills and stuff.

That would be the easiest method, but I would do the displacement map (more complicated, and is very memory intensive on the computer, but results are very nice)
__________________
Live the life you love, love the life you live
MattTheMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-05-2006, 03:57 PM   #3
xamagodx
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Moosomin, Sask, Canada
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Wow

thx but how do you make the displacement map?
xamagodx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-05-2006, 10:23 PM   #4
MattTheMan
Registered User
 
MattTheMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Fairfield, CT
Posts: 2,436
Thanks: 0
Thanked 18 Times in 18 Posts
Default

ok- go into photoshop, or paint, and paint a black and white terrain map.

Something like- this.



It's not good, but I just drew it in a minute for the purpose of this short tutorial.

Then- in Maya, create either a Nurbs or Polygon plane. The more faces/patches you have, the more precision you get. You don't want to overload your computer, though. I'll just use 10 patches U and 10 patches V on a Nurbs Plane.



Now, assign it a new material. Open up the Hypershade, and create a new texture (create->2d texture->file). Open up your displacement map with the file texture node.



Now, middle-click and drag the material down to the work zone. THen, middle-click the file node and drag it onto the material. Then, when the mini-menu pops up, select Displacement Map.

Finally, grab the plane, assign the material to the plane, and keep it selected. Then go to modify->convert->displacement to polygons.

This should be your result: note the high poly count- more patches U and V would make the map be more precise and take up even more polys (up to millions). scale your plane if necessary.
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
Live the life you love, love the life you live
MattTheMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-05-2006, 11:01 PM   #5
xamagodx
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Moosomin, Sask, Canada
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default wow

thank you alot im gonna go try it now and ill tell you if it works
xamagodx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-05-2006, 11:46 PM   #6
xamagodx
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Moosomin, Sask, Canada
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hmm i couldent get it to work i did what u said but all i got was another square abover the one with diaganol lines on it, i also only have maya PLE (personal learning edition) so i might no be able to do it.
xamagodx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-05-2006, 11:58 PM   #7
MattTheMan
Registered User
 
MattTheMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Fairfield, CT
Posts: 2,436
Thanks: 0
Thanked 18 Times in 18 Posts
Default

im sure you can do it- what version are you using?

Oh- and in the hypershade- middle-click drag the material itself (little block with sphere) down into the work zone

That might be it

PLE has the full functionality of Maya Complete. Only limitation is watermark.
__________________
Live the life you love, love the life you live
MattTheMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2006, 12:04 AM   #8
xamagodx
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Moosomin, Sask, Canada
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i am using maya 7.0
xamagodx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2006, 12:08 AM   #9
MattTheMan
Registered User
 
MattTheMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Fairfield, CT
Posts: 2,436
Thanks: 0
Thanked 18 Times in 18 Posts
Default

well, read what I said above, and try it. If it still doesn't work, i'll still be glad to help you.

Im using 6.5 so there shouldn't be a big difference
__________________
Live the life you love, love the life you live
MattTheMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2006, 12:15 AM   #10
xamagodx
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Moosomin, Sask, Canada
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Talking yah

ok nvm i got it this is amazing but it doesent work as a good landscape, i need one with like moutians and stuff,and one that i could like make a car drive on it casue i need it for a project.
xamagodx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2006, 12:16 AM   #11
xamagodx
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Moosomin, Sask, Canada
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i thought i had to drag the texture with the pic onto the square, but i had to take it to the sphere then take that to the square.
xamagodx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2006, 12:29 AM   #12
MattTheMan
Registered User
 
MattTheMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Fairfield, CT
Posts: 2,436
Thanks: 0
Thanked 18 Times in 18 Posts
Default

sure you can make a great lanscape with it- just paint a better displacement map :p
__________________
Live the life you love, love the life you live
MattTheMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2006, 12:31 AM   #13
xamagodx
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Moosomin, Sask, Canada
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

well im not that good, u think you could wip one up for me?
xamagodx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2006, 01:34 AM   #14
MattTheMan
Registered User
 
MattTheMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Fairfield, CT
Posts: 2,436
Thanks: 0
Thanked 18 Times in 18 Posts
Default

sure, tell me what kind of landscape and I'll do it. Like describe it plz.
__________________
Live the life you love, love the life you live
MattTheMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2006, 03:46 PM   #15
xamagodx
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Moosomin, Sask, Canada
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

well im hoping to get like just a little bit of hills, kinda like if you are in the black hills. and another question how do u make a Tree.
xamagodx is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.