Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 26-09-2008, 01:16 PM   #1
curtis08
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 39
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default kitchen

hi all, started this a while ago now coming back to it and finishing it. tell me what you thinks.
Attached Thumbnails
 
curtis08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2008, 01:17 PM   #2
curtis08
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 39
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

image
Attached Thumbnails
 
curtis08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2008, 05:03 PM   #3
murambi
Head of 3d Admedia
 
murambi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: nairobi , ken-ya
Posts: 1,327
Thanks: 21
Thanked 129 Times in 128 Posts
Default

its a bit dark try adding some lights so we can see the details better oh and some wires
murambi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2008, 07:23 PM   #4
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

Turn on wireframe on shaded and take some screen grabs :x
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-09-2008, 10:44 PM   #5
RockyMills_01
Subscriber
 
RockyMills_01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: St. Kitts, Caribbean
Posts: 235
Thanks: 7
Thanked 16 Times in 15 Posts
Default

Looking good so far. The layout is nice.

You have some detail on the stove and the refrigerator panel, but I cant see them in the wide shot. Post a close up shot of these areas.
RockyMills_01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2008, 06:36 AM   #6
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

Anybody else think those handles on the fridge are too high? Good luck to any kid trying to get a juice box.
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2008, 02:41 AM   #7
curtis08
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 39
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

im not to sure how you want me to put wires up.

and yes i agree im going to make the handles slightly bigger and a little lower. Ive just started giving the objects materials now and i was just wundering if anyone can help me with a window i want light to shine threw it but it always ends up that the window goes black. how do you go along with making a window?
Attached Thumbnails
 
curtis08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2008, 02:53 AM   #8
BennyK
Registered User
 
BennyK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: IL
Posts: 738
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

to post wires just take a screenshot of your object while it's selected or with 'Wireframe on shaded' turned on.
To make a window you need to create a glass shader. The most basic one is black color, very high transparency and high specular and reflection. (you usually need to add refractions but since it's a window it doesn't matter much).
Hope this helps,
Benny
__________________
When in doubt, delete history and freeze transformations.

My latest snake game
(Requires DirectX9 SDK and Framework)
BennyK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2008, 05:47 AM   #9
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

I don't think you have to make the handles bigger just lower. And I think the window is coming out black because you need to turn up the refractions in the render settings (under raytracing) so that the rays make it through the glass.
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2008, 02:32 AM   #10
curtis08
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 39
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

window just about sorted. avnt bin able to do much work with collage work pilling up
Attached Thumbnails
 
curtis08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2008, 12:13 AM   #11
curtis08
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 39
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

still workin on it when i have time
Attached Thumbnails
 
curtis08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2008, 01:42 PM   #12
murambi
Head of 3d Admedia
 
murambi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: nairobi , ken-ya
Posts: 1,327
Thanks: 21
Thanked 129 Times in 128 Posts
Default

we would luv to giv constructive crits but cant see a thing
murambi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2008, 08:17 PM   #13
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

I agree, some screen grabs of your scene view would suffice since you don't have that set up.
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.