Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 22-02-2009, 07:15 PM   #1
leonlabyk
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Hastings UK
Posts: 890
Thanks: 1
Thanked 32 Times in 31 Posts
Default open 2009 file in 2008

Is there a way I can open a maya 2009 file in 2008. If anyone could let me know it would be much appreciated.

Thanks,

Leon Labyk
leonlabyk is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to leonlabyk For This Useful Post:
Old 22-02-2009, 10:41 PM   #2
LauriePriest
Moderator
 
LauriePriest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: London
Posts: 1,001
Thanks: 0
Thanked 59 Times in 51 Posts
Default

file > open with the option box and tick the ignore version option box. This will usually be fine as long as you dont use any version specific features. This option is avalable from maya version 8.5 + if your using an older version than that you have to save as a maya ascii file and copy over the cut ID and maya verision information from a ascii file of the version your importing to into your file.
__________________
FX supervisor - double negative
LauriePriest is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to LauriePriest For This Useful Post:
Old 19-08-2009, 09:35 AM   #3
arvsol
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Just do this (with your versions):

To open a Maya file created in a newer version (ex: Maya 2008 file need to open in 8.5)
1. Save the file as a .ma file from the newer version of maya

2. Open the file in a text editor

//Maya ASCII 2008 scene
//Name: myFileName.ma
//Last modified: Thu, Feb 26, 2009 11:06:07 AM
//Codeset: UTF-8
requires maya "2008";
currentUnit -l centimeter -a degree -t film;
fileInfo "application" "maya";
fileInfo "product" "Maya Complete 2008";
fileInfo "version" "2008";
fileInfo "cutIdentifier" "200708030025-704171";
fileInfo "osv" "Mac OS X 10.5.6";

3. Replace the version info highlighted above with the older version info (if you don't know what it should look like, save a file as .ma from your older version of maya and open it in a text editor)

//Maya ASCII 8.5 scene
//Name: 2008-12-21_Ig2_run04-00-1315_xyzpts-setupscene.csv.ma
//Last modified: Thu, Feb 26, 2009 11:06:07 AM
//Codeset: UTF-8
requires maya "8.5";
currentUnit -l centimeter -a degree -t film;
fileInfo "application" "maya";
fileInfo "product" "Maya Unlimited 8.5";
fileInfo "version" "8.5";
fileInfo "cutIdentifier" "200708030025-704171";
fileInfo "osv" "Mac OS X 10.5.6";

Note: If the file utilizes new features associated with the newer version, it will not work in the older version

i did the same yesterday...
arvsol is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to arvsol For This Useful Post:
Old 09-05-2010, 03:24 AM   #4
huntaer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 58
Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

I've discovered a simpler way for exporting models if you're fine with resetting the file in the older version (I haven't tried importing the file with 2009 features this way yet). You should download the expansion where you get extra export features. Download this (might already be installed if you have maya 2008/09/10 unlimited, not sure about standard), and turn it on in the plug-in manager. You should be able to export whatever model(s) you're working on in any version into an older/newer version.

I hope this works out for anyone who's still asking the same question.

~Hunt
huntaer is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to huntaer For This Useful Post:
Old 18-08-2011, 01:49 AM   #5
NextDesign
Technical Director
 
NextDesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,982
Thanks: 33
Thanked 532 Times in 471 Posts
Default

Since 2011 I believe, you can pull in a .ma file without having to edit the file's header. It will give you a warning, but it will import it as best as it can.
__________________
Imagination is more important than knowledge.
NextDesign is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to NextDesign For This Useful Post:
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM
2008 Artega GT Acid44 Work In Progress 7 06-11-2010 10:30 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.