Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 12-07-2010, 12:13 PM   #1
Joey81
Subscriber
 
Joey81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 242
Thanks: 2
Thanked 30 Times in 29 Posts
Default Car modell rendering & adding environment

Hey guys!

I am working on a car presentation & i need some information about rendering. Almost finished with the car modelling & i ll do a bit of texturing. If i am complitly done with environment & car, how to start rendering? Shall i use layers?
like render the
1.car scene
2.environment
3.sky
or do some more?

i am thinking on a video like this
(i am not sure if i can post here.... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5fIqR...os=7ur0Aa4yn14)

I know its almost like life & my wont be so Professional but i try
Thanks for the help

joe
Joey81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 03:48 PM   #2
Perfecto
Registered User
 
Perfecto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: TN (USA)
Posts: 1,882
Thanks: 8
Thanked 127 Times in 119 Posts
Default

If you have compositing software like after effects, photoshop, combustion, gimp, etc...I would recommend rendering in layers. You will have MUCH more control over the final output and you can achieve a much more realistic render.

I usually render the following layers/passes

Diffuse
Occlusion
Specular
Shadow
Reflection
__________________
Don't be satisfied with what you can do but rather strive to do the things you can't do!
Exceed Expectations!
Perfecto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 04:10 PM   #3
daverave
The thin red line
 
daverave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: England
Posts: 4,471
Thanks: 101
Thanked 952 Times in 879 Posts
Default

Perfecto
could you recommend a good tutorial on redering layer............dave
__________________


Avatar Challenge Winner 2010
daverave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 04:14 PM   #4
Joey81
Subscriber
 
Joey81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 242
Thanks: 2
Thanked 30 Times in 29 Posts
Default

yepp, that would be very helpful. i was checking utube for this layer stuff, to understand how it works.
>> http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7nuksyiKlbI
Maybe the end of the video is a good part to understand how it works.

btw. How many render do i ve to do of a picture/scene ?






Originally posted by daverave
Perfecto
could you recommend a good tutorial on redering layer............dave
Joey81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 04:16 PM   #5
Perfecto
Registered User
 
Perfecto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: TN (USA)
Posts: 1,882
Thanks: 8
Thanked 127 Times in 119 Posts
Default

I've created one but it wouldn't be appropriate for me to post it. I learned from a combination of the Maya Help and a few tutorials that I googled. I'll see if I can find the ones that helped me.
__________________
Don't be satisfied with what you can do but rather strive to do the things you can't do!
Exceed Expectations!
Perfecto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 04:44 PM   #6
Perfecto
Registered User
 
Perfecto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: TN (USA)
Posts: 1,882
Thanks: 8
Thanked 127 Times in 119 Posts
Default

Came across this on youtube...looks really good for compositing the layers. It's in after effects but I pretty much use the same process in combustion. Combining the layers also work the same way in photoshop, gimp, and other photo editing software. Still looking for some tuts on how to create the layers.

Part 1:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tW3a_...eature=related

Part 2:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rS9W3APRMfQ&NR=1

Part 3:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X6IS0...eature=related
__________________
Don't be satisfied with what you can do but rather strive to do the things you can't do!
Exceed Expectations!
Perfecto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 04:47 PM   #7
Joey81
Subscriber
 
Joey81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 242
Thanks: 2
Thanked 30 Times in 29 Posts
Default

thanks, i am on it
Download started


Originally posted by Perfecto
Came across this on youtube...looks really good for compositing the layers. It's in after effects but I pretty much use the same process in combustion. Combining the layers also work the same way in photoshop, gimp, and other photo editing software. Still looking for some tuts on how to create the layers.

Part 1:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tW3a_...eature=related

Part 2:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rS9W3APRMfQ&NR=1

Part 3:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X6IS0...eature=related
Joey81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 04:56 PM   #8
Perfecto
Registered User
 
Perfecto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: TN (USA)
Posts: 1,882
Thanks: 8
Thanked 127 Times in 119 Posts
Default

What version of Maya do you have Joey81? How you create the layers will depend on your version of Maya.
__________________
Don't be satisfied with what you can do but rather strive to do the things you can't do!
Exceed Expectations!
Perfecto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 05:36 PM   #9
Perfecto
Registered User
 
Perfecto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: TN (USA)
Posts: 1,882
Thanks: 8
Thanked 127 Times in 119 Posts
Default

Not the greatest but this might help some.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rw1ChV0DfQw

If you have newer version of Maya, then you won't be able to right click a layer and choose preset. Instead, you will right click a layer and choose attribute. Then once the layer's attributes are open, you will see a presets button in the upper right corner. Right click the presets button and then you will see occlusion, etc.

Sometimes I create a separate render layer for each pass. But most of the time I put objects a,b,c... on a render layer and then add all my passes to that layer. That way I can create another layer for objects d,e,f... and create passes for that layer. It's more complicated so I won't go into it. Just know that render layers are different than render passes and the video I posted is using render layers themselves as the passes.

Edit:
Display Layers = Layers that determine which objects are displayable.
Render Layers = Layers that determine which objects are renderable.
Render Passes = How are the renderable objects going to be rendered
__________________
Don't be satisfied with what you can do but rather strive to do the things you can't do!
Exceed Expectations!

Last edited by Perfecto : 12-07-2010 at 05:39 PM.
Perfecto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 07:34 PM   #10
Joey81
Subscriber
 
Joey81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 242
Thanks: 2
Thanked 30 Times in 29 Posts
Default

I use Maya 20009 x64 Unlimited. I had earlier a 32bit version, but that was sh!t. It freeze like every half an hour... funny but i had more save file on my Harddisk than jpg )))



Originally posted by Perfecto
Not the greatest but this might help some.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rw1ChV0DfQw

If you have newer version of Maya, then you won't be able to right click a layer and choose preset. Instead, you will right click a layer and choose attribute. Then once the layer's attributes are open, you will see a presets button in the upper right corner. Right click the presets button and then you will see occlusion, etc.

Sometimes I create a separate render layer for each pass. But most of the time I put objects a,b,c... on a render layer and then add all my passes to that layer. That way I can create another layer for objects d,e,f... and create passes for that layer. It's more complicated so I won't go into it. Just know that render layers are different than render passes and the video I posted is using render layers themselves as the passes.

Edit:
Display Layers = Layers that determine which objects are displayable.
Render Layers = Layers that determine which objects are renderable.
Render Passes = How are the renderable objects going to be rendered
Joey81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 07:53 PM   #11
Joey81
Subscriber
 
Joey81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 242
Thanks: 2
Thanked 30 Times in 29 Posts
Default

Maya was freezing a lot.
I was using the same Pc as now.
4core X4 810 @ 2.6, 4gb ram, Ati 48xx vaporX
This pc in 2009 a lot of money & it freeze for 4months.. Then i put a 64bit Windows 7 & everything become fun
Joey81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 07:58 PM   #12
Joey81
Subscriber
 
Joey81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 242
Thanks: 2
Thanked 30 Times in 29 Posts
Default

thx!!! i'm downloading the new one too
This wont be easy to learn



Originally posted by Perfecto
Not the greatest but this might help some.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rw1ChV0DfQw

If you have newer version of Maya, then you won't be able to right click a layer and choose preset. Instead, you will right click a layer and choose attribute. Then once the layer's attributes are open, you will see a presets button in the upper right corner. Right click the presets button and then you will see occlusion, etc.

Sometimes I create a separate render layer for each pass. But most of the time I put objects a,b,c... on a render layer and then add all my passes to that layer. That way I can create another layer for objects d,e,f... and create passes for that layer. It's more complicated so I won't go into it. Just know that render layers are different than render passes and the video I posted is using render layers themselves as the passes.

Edit:
Display Layers = Layers that determine which objects are displayable.
Render Layers = Layers that determine which objects are renderable.
Render Passes = How are the renderable objects going to be rendered
Joey81 is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.