Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 27-09-2010, 12:44 AM   #1
Rhetoric Camel
Subscriber
 
Rhetoric Camel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Plattsburgh New York
Posts: 1,222
Thanks: 6
Thanked 28 Times in 23 Posts
Default Modeling a scene with a lot of objects

Well I'm starting to work on a possible animation and there is going to be a lot involved in this one. I've got the ideas in my head and started writing them down in a story board fashion without the pictures because I can't draw too well, but I might attempt it anyway.

The scenes are going to be in a house, main character and his dog getting ready to go to the local park to play. They will then leave the house, walk down the street to the park, where there is a playground (slides, ladders, monkey bars, large sandbox, bleachers, swing set, fence, and a huge field). Oh and also a ball, which is modeled after my dogs favorite ball.

All of this is quite large, or going to be anyway, and I was wondering can I model all of this in the same project scene or would separating the house from the outside walk down the street and the playground all in different scenes and just import the characters into each scene as I need them?

I'm figuring when it comes time to animate the scenes I'll probably have to render in layers anyway so that's what made me wonder if I should make it all one scene or not.
__________________
- Mike

http://rhetoriccamel.blogspot.com
Rhetoric Camel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2010, 06:38 PM   #2
hamidz90
Registered User
 
hamidz90's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 37
Thanks: 1
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
Default

i would suggest modelling everything in the same scene but render in separated layers, your house in a different layer your characters in a different one etc etc then composite everything in a software like Nuke or after effects or apple shake.

but if you're wanting to model everything in different scenes tho, you can then open your main scene and import everything as references, File - Reference Editor....then in that window File - Create Reference.

this won't change the file size, your main file will still be heavy, but you will just have more control over everything.

be aware though, this could be either a bad or a good thing, for example if your main scene is the house one and you reference your characters in it, then you go back to your character file and change something to it like your change your characters head it will also be updated in your main scene.




another good thing, in the image above if i uncheck HeadRN head.mb anything in that scene will disappear like it was never there, which will also reduce the load of the file

Last edited by hamidz90 : 27-09-2010 at 06:43 PM.
hamidz90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2010, 10:12 PM   #3
Rhetoric Camel
Subscriber
 
Rhetoric Camel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Plattsburgh New York
Posts: 1,222
Thanks: 6
Thanked 28 Times in 23 Posts
Default

I've never used the reference editor. Sounds pretty interesting though. Thanks for the reply that's very helpful, sound like I could give that a try and if it doesn't work I could then just import everything into one scene.
__________________
- Mike

http://rhetoriccamel.blogspot.com
Rhetoric Camel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2010, 10:53 PM   #4
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks: 158
Thanked 651 Times in 621 Posts
Default

Let me know how this one goes rhet....I modelled a small scene with a robot and it rendered fine...then I added a couple of chairs and now MR craps itself, or my lappy does?? It was working just fine..then pooof no more render.

cheers bullet
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-09-2010, 12:56 AM   #5
Rhetoric Camel
Subscriber
 
Rhetoric Camel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Plattsburgh New York
Posts: 1,222
Thanks: 6
Thanked 28 Times in 23 Posts
Default

hehe well once I get a bit into it I'm going to start posting the progress in the WIP section. All I've modeled so far is the ball for the dog. Will probably take quite a while to model it all, especially since I'm going to have so much going on, I'll probably be laying out UV's as I model each object, to make it less stressful when all the modeling is done.

I should be getting started on this by the weekend though.
__________________
- Mike

http://rhetoriccamel.blogspot.com
Rhetoric Camel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-09-2010, 01:23 AM   #6
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks: 158
Thanked 651 Times in 621 Posts
Default

I vill be vatching yu...all ze vay

bullet'
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 07:26 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 11:56 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.