Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 29-11-2010, 02:15 PM   #1
se7enhedd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 222
Thanks: 8
Thanked 56 Times in 55 Posts
Default deformers/proxy?

hi,

i'm trying to make a car grill. a basic shape. I was hoping to create a 'squared' version and then curve the whole thing - but how do i do this?
I've tried applying a proxy, but i just get a copy of the whole thing next to the original..(?).. and as i understand it, deformers are mainly for animation...

Last edited by se7enhedd : 06-04-2012 at 11:18 AM.
se7enhedd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-11-2010, 02:42 PM   #2
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Thanks: 4
Thanked 298 Times in 288 Posts
Default

a lattice
honestdom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-11-2010, 04:13 PM   #3
se7enhedd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 222
Thanks: 8
Thanked 56 Times in 55 Posts
Default

well ive managed to apply a lattice - but it just seems like moving vertices.
i could do with a little more idea of how to produce gentle curves
se7enhedd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-11-2010, 05:30 PM   #4
Nilla
Administrator
 
Nilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Prague
Posts: 753
Thanks: 28
Thanked 233 Times in 186 Posts
Default

With the risk of getting shot amongst all the great modelers on this forum, because I'm not sure if it would work on the geometry you have there, but have you tried the bend deformer?

I can't stand modeling so when I'm forced to build something I do everything in my power to avoid moving vertices, and the bend deformer is a really nifty thing for creating smooth curved shapes on high resolution geometry(you do need an awful lot of extra edges most of the time) and bending legs on chairs, pipes and things like that. As well you can rotate and move it and apply multiple deformers, and as long as you don't delete the history it stays where it is so you can edit things later if your bend is too sharp. I've become so obsessed with it that when I model something it's more about incorporating as many bend deformers as I possibly can than actually building the object

Nilla
Nilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-11-2010, 05:37 PM   #5
gubar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,055
Thanks: 2
Thanked 59 Times in 56 Posts
Default

Once you've applied the bend deformer, add a little bend to see the effect upon the model, then rotate the deformer so you get the curvature along the axis you want.
gubar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-11-2010, 06:12 PM   #6
daverave
The thin red line
 
daverave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: England
Posts: 4,471
Thanks: 101
Thanked 952 Times in 879 Posts
Default

I think in this case a lattic would be better, if the item was a sweeping curve then yes use the bend deformer would work, the tricky thing in using a lattic is how meny divisions to create in this case I would start with say 5 along 3 up and 2 back. Hope this makes sence............dave
__________________


Avatar Challenge Winner 2010
daverave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-11-2010, 07:28 PM   #7
gubar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,055
Thanks: 2
Thanked 59 Times in 56 Posts
Default

I thought perhaps the op was going for a simplified version, in which case a bend may be enough - if not more work will be required for sure.
gubar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-11-2010, 07:48 PM   #8
Jay
Senior Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,234
Thanks: 39
Thanked 425 Times in 381 Posts
Default

Use a bend deformer, but apply the values a little at a time on the curvature.

The latttice is a good way of doing it too, you do get less lattice points to pull overall.

Generally the difference between the two will be the sides of the model - with the bend deformer the sides of the model will follow in an arc manner creating an angle but with the lattice the sides will stay parallel until you rotate them manually.

As with everything in Maya there is no right and wrong way to do stuff, its just a matter of application and preference.

Both the lattice and bend deformers can be used in Animation, but obviously in a different manner from each other

hope that helps

Jay
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-11-2010, 10:18 PM   #9
se7enhedd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 222
Thanks: 8
Thanked 56 Times in 55 Posts
Default

ok. nice to see i have a few people to help me here...

I've tried both the lattice and bend - and this is what i'm getting.

prior to this I selected the entire grill and clicked mesh>combine. which i assume it to be treated as a single object (?)

Last edited by se7enhedd : 06-04-2012 at 11:18 AM.
se7enhedd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-11-2010, 10:41 PM   #10
Jay
Senior Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,234
Thanks: 39
Thanked 425 Times in 381 Posts
Default

The geometry needs to have a few subdivisions in it to get good results, but dont over do it though.

Also the bend deformer can be rotated in X,Y,Z too if need be before actually applying any values

cheers
Jay
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2010, 09:38 AM   #11
se7enhedd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 222
Thanks: 8
Thanked 56 Times in 55 Posts
Default

thanks. i got this far --

but now i'm trying to create another bend to flex it along the length. I can't seem to do it.

can you have more than one bend deformer??

Last edited by se7enhedd : 06-04-2012 at 11:18 AM.
se7enhedd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2010, 10:34 AM   #12
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks: 158
Thanked 651 Times in 621 Posts
Default

Yeh mate...you can have multiple...I just tried it and it worked...or select the object and delete history...and do again.
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.