Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 07-12-2010, 03:40 PM   #1
Vox520
Registered User
 
Vox520's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Dog Model

After finishing the tutorial on how to model a dog, I went to convert from polygons to subdiv, yet nothing was happening. I then went back to before I joined the two halves and it worked perfectly. I have adjusted the slider to the maximum value and still nothing. This might mean that there is to much geometry?

I was planning on rigging this model in the future, so if anyone could assist me with this problem it would be appreciated.
Vox520 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Vox520 For This Useful Post:
navninja1 (25-06-2011)
Old 07-12-2010, 08:20 PM   #2
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

is there an error message on the status line at the bottom?
if it says something about a polygon limit then you should up that in the subdivide options
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2010, 11:12 AM   #3
Vox520
Registered User
 
Vox520's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Dog Model

This is exactley what's showing up.

editMenuUpdate("MayaWindow|mainEditMenu");
ModObjectsMenu MayaWindow|mainModifyMenu;
CreateSubdivSurfaceOptions;
performSubdivCreate 1;
subdivCreateCallback OptionBoxWindow|formLayout86|tabLayout2|formLayout 87|tabLayout6|columnLayout18 1;
deleteInternalValence2Verts |polySurface14|polySurfaceShape25;
polyToSubdiv -ap 0 -ch off -aut on -maxPolyCount 10000 -maxEdgesPerVert 32 |polySurface14|polySurfaceShape25;
autoUpdateAttrEd;
updateAnimLayerEditor("AnimLayerTab");
statusLineUpdateInputField;

Any ideas?
Vox520 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2010, 08:09 PM   #4
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Vox520 View Post
polyToSubdiv -ap 0 -ch off -aut on -maxPolyCount 10000 -maxEdgesPerVert 32 |polySurface14|polySurfaceShape25;
a
im sure you can figure it out
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2010, 12:25 AM   #5
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,371
Thanks: 74
Thanked 709 Times in 642 Posts
Default

maxPolyCount is set to 10,000, so increase that in your options.

Yeah, spell it out, Chirone.
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2010, 02:14 AM   #6
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

aww but now you just spoon fed him the answer..

but i suppose reading that log is probably not that easy...
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2010, 09:53 PM   #7
Vox520
Registered User
 
Vox520's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Thanks very much. I do have one query though. How do I increase the max poly count past 10,000?

I have clicked on the box beside "Poly to subdiv” and dragged the "maximum base mesh faces" slider to the top which is 10,000. I have also tried typing a number in, yet nothing happens. Is there some other option box that I need to open?

If you know any solution it would be appreciated greatly, thanks.

subdivCreateCallback OptionBoxWindow|formLayout86|tabLayout2|formLayout 88|tabLayout3|columnLayout17 1; hideOptionBox;
deleteInternalValence2Verts |polySurface14|polySurfaceShape25;
polyToSubdiv -ap 0 -ch off -aut on -maxPolyCount 100000 -maxEdgesPerVert 32 |polySurface14|polySurfaceShape25;
autoUpdateAttrEd;
updateAnimLayerEditor("AnimLayerTab");
statusLineUpdateInputField;
if (`window -exists OptionBoxWindow`) deleteUI -window OptionBoxWindow;
saveOptionBoxSize();
Vox520 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2010, 10:28 AM   #8
ctbram
Moderator
 
ctbram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 2,995
Thanks: 42
Thanked 582 Times in 532 Posts
Default

yep. what they said.

Oh in an attempt to actually add a useful bit of information - In the lower right hand corner of the UI there is a little icon that looks like a window. This brings up the SCRIPT EDITOR, which has a command output history on by default. If you do not have the maxpolycount set high enough, maya actually gives you a message to the effect "maxpolycount exceeded, try increasing". Which is rare, as programmers usually like to add more arcane error messages along the lines - "operation failed - error 34".
__________________
"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants." Sir Isaac Newton, 1675

Last edited by ctbram : 10-12-2010 at 11:21 AM.
ctbram is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Model Errors Urgent advice!! sreynoso Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 11 23-10-2014 12:39 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.