Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 28-12-2010, 04:46 PM   #1
gaboraa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Selection sets?

Hi folks!

I'm a Softimage and Cinema 4d user and I'm relatively new to Maya. I will give all of you some headaches with my newbie questions so sorry for this

In softimage there is feature called cluster matarial for multi texturing a mesh's desired parts. In short, select some polygons and drag and drop a matarial into this polygon selection and you have a cluster matarial.
I excatly can do this in Maya and everyting is ok from here but how can I see what matarial assigned to what polygon selection later on? How can I reselect this polygon selection again?

Any advice is greatly appreciated

Thanks
gaboraa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-12-2010, 05:16 PM   #2
maheshsubbiah
Registered User
 
maheshsubbiah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: India
Posts: 145
Thanks: 2
Thanked 21 Times in 19 Posts
Default

Hey gaboraa,

If i undestood your problem correctly, Right click on the material in hypershade and select 'Select objects with material'. All the polygons with that material should get selected.

Mahesh
maheshsubbiah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-12-2010, 08:35 PM   #3
Ozgalis
Events Team at Wargaming.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Crystal Lake, Illinois
Posts: 478
Thanks: 8
Thanked 74 Times in 69 Posts
Default

Hey gaboraa, there is also another option to your question.

After you have all the faces selected on your mesh that you want to give that "certain" material goto Create > Sets > Quick Select Set. This will add all of those faces to this particular set, to go back and grab it just goto Edit > Quick Select Sets > then your set will be in there...it will be what ever you named it.

As far as I know you can make as many sets as you want, but I have never made more than 3 so I am not sure.
Ozgalis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-12-2010, 02:04 PM   #4
gaboraa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thank you for all these extremely helpful answers. "Select objects with material" has done the trick. When you select objects with matarial, it automatically selects the polygon selection that was assign to this matarial.
Thanks again for your help and time.
gaboraa is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.