Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 10-01-2011, 08:02 PM   #1
doda
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default need help in expression

Please if any one can help ?
while i;am working in expression i encountered this message:

Warning: Cycle on 'particleShape1.output[1]' may not evaluate as expected. (Use 'cycleCheck -e off' to disable this warning.)
i d'nt known from where to turn (cycleCheck -e) off

your answer will be highly appreciated.
doda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2011, 09:09 PM   #2
septopus
yes...you dont sound not non double negative
 
septopus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Norfolk, VA
Posts: 91
Thanks: 2
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

its just a warning. not an error, so no worries.
it tells you how to turn off the warning.
__________________
level 3 luchador!

image dump
septopus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2011, 10:55 PM   #3
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,371
Thanks: 74
Thanked 709 Times in 642 Posts
Default

If you type in cycleCheck -e off into the MEL line at the bottom of your screen (if it says Python just click Python to toggle to MEL) it will no longer give you this warning.
What it means is this: Particles feed information to itself cyclically based on time, (e.g. their previous position at the frame before plus new information gives new position) so if you move backwards in the timeline, or if you jump to the first frame 1, you're screwing up this cyclical flow of information (nothing to worry about) and it's just warning you that it might not give you expected behaviour. That's my understanding based on what I think I remember learning. Hope that makes some sense.
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.