Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 17-01-2011, 04:49 AM   #1
nick@koeppen.net
Ironegg
 
nick@koeppen.net's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: California, U.S.
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default converting Nurbs To Polys

How come whenever I convert nurbs to polys my move-tool (or any tool for that matter) becomes centered around the origin rather than the object I just converted? Also, after I convert the object, the Nurb-'version' is still underneath the polys-'version'.

Thanks!

~Nick
nick@koeppen.net is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to nick@koeppen.net For This Useful Post:
Old 17-01-2011, 06:26 AM   #2
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,371
Thanks: 74
Thanked 709 Times in 642 Posts
Default

To re-center your pivot point, just go Modify > Center Pivot.
As for the NURBS object still being around... yes it is, but you can always delete history on the poly object and then delete the NURBS object.
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stwert For This Useful Post:
Old 17-01-2011, 09:13 AM   #3
nick@koeppen.net
Ironegg
 
nick@koeppen.net's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: California, U.S.
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

oh awesome. Thanks bro!
nick@koeppen.net is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to nick@koeppen.net For This Useful Post:
Old 17-01-2011, 12:04 PM   #4
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks: 158
Thanked 651 Times in 621 Posts
Default

You can also leave the NURB geo there whilst you do other things...if you alter the NURB geo it will alter the poly as you do it...you can do some funky stuff.

cheers bullet
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to bullet1968 For This Useful Post:
Old 17-01-2011, 07:50 PM   #5
nick@koeppen.net
Ironegg
 
nick@koeppen.net's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: California, U.S.
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Oh really? What about visa-versa? Like if I model the Poly geo, will it model the NURB simultaneously as well?

Judging by how I've already modeled with the Poly and the NURB hasnt changed I guess not. But I was curious to see if there is a setting for that.

~Thanks for the insight!
nick@koeppen.net is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to nick@koeppen.net For This Useful Post:
Old 17-01-2011, 07:53 PM   #6
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,371
Thanks: 74
Thanked 709 Times in 642 Posts
Default

No... for one, NURBs geometry is pretty particular (e.g. each patch must have exactly four sides), and in this case, the flow of information is from the NURBS to the poly. That's why there is history attached to the poly object. Its shape is dependent on the NURBS shape. If you want to disconnect that flow of information, you must delete the history on the poly object. This is a pretty fundamental part of how Maya functions at a base level.
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stwert For This Useful Post:
Old 17-01-2011, 10:11 PM   #7
nick@koeppen.net
Ironegg
 
nick@koeppen.net's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: California, U.S.
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Wow, I never knew thats how it functioned (to some degree). But thank you- thats good to know. Kinda explains why some things were the way they were in past projects.
nick@koeppen.net is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to nick@koeppen.net For This Useful Post:
Old 18-01-2011, 12:34 AM   #8
ctbram
Moderator
 
ctbram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 2,994
Thanks: 42
Thanked 582 Times in 532 Posts
Default

The local axis pops to the origin because the newly created polygon surface is considered a new object and the local axis origin of all new objects is the global origin (0,0,0).

There used to be an option to delete the nurbs geometry a long time ago. What you do now is just delete it manually afterwards. If you want to keep the nurbs geometry around just remember is will have history on it attached to the new poly surface so be careful.
__________________
"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants." Sir Isaac Newton, 1675

Last edited by ctbram : 18-01-2011 at 12:39 AM.
ctbram is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ctbram For This Useful Post:
Old 18-01-2011, 01:44 AM   #9
nick@koeppen.net
Ironegg
 
nick@koeppen.net's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: California, U.S.
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

I guess logically that makes sense, but it seems less efficient. Not that its THAT big of a hassle but ehh.

And yeah, Kurt mentions not to forget deleting history. Before I knew about the history a geo could, I used to let it build WAY too much. Caused a bit of lag. At this point I dont know too much about what I can do with modeling a NURB and Poly simultaneously so I tend to delete them.

But I'm curious to see some of the "funky" stuff that can be done with it!

Thanks All!
nick@koeppen.net is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to nick@koeppen.net For This Useful Post:
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
converting triangle polygons to quads ? sonah Modeling 9 21-12-2010 11:16 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.