Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 19-01-2011, 10:06 PM   #31
THX1138
14 Year Veteran
 
THX1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 2,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 69 Times in 68 Posts
Default

Just render your scene in passes instead of the beauty shot. It wont tax your processor as much as the beauty render does. The Render passes function is in your MR attributes. And to do this you have to batch render your scene, or is this now different with the current Maya. I'm basing my info from Maya 6.5 .
THX1138 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-2011, 10:52 PM   #32
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks: 158
Thanked 651 Times in 621 Posts
Default

Cheers mate...I will give it a crack when I get home from work...it is depressing when software dies...LOL I should be used to it...my Survey gear does it numerous times a day! will let you know how it goes...thanks again mate

cheers bullet
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2011, 11:05 PM   #33
THX1138
14 Year Veteran
 
THX1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 2,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 69 Times in 68 Posts
Default

bullet1968, did you try the render passes option yet?
THX1138 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2011, 12:01 AM   #34
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks: 158
Thanked 651 Times in 621 Posts
Default

Hi mate...no I dont know how to and I havent had time to read up on it mate..sorry. I have been flat out at work this past 2 weeks and the high temps make for a dull boy...to busy trying to sleep. I wont get it done mate....never mind, I had a go...to be honest I have been doing so much modelling and design on the construction sites I am looking after...maya is the last thing on my mind at present. Thak though mate...I will read up on rendering a bit when the cyclone has passed over...might be busy tying down my house yet LOL.

cheers bullet
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2011, 12:12 AM   #35
daverave
The thin red line
 
daverave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: England
Posts: 4,471
Thanks: 101
Thanked 952 Times in 879 Posts
Default

Hi Bullet
You could render each model at a time then comp in photoshop..........dave
__________________


Avatar Challenge Winner 2010
daverave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2011, 02:22 AM   #36
THX1138
14 Year Veteran
 
THX1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 2,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 69 Times in 68 Posts
Default

Sorry to hear that bullet1968. Perhaps you might be able to enter the next challenge.

Anyway, render passes is really easy to set up. You would open up the Attribute in your MR render globals and scroll down to the ( render layer/ pass control ) or what ever it says to activate the option and turn it on. Then all you have to do is turn off the beauty pass and turn on color, shadow, specular, ect....

Don't forget to select which output format you want to render out to. ( JPG, Targa, Tiff, ect..) And don't forget to name your file.

Finally, to make the option work you have to batch render the scene to render out the passes. The option is in the rendering section of maya. Go to that and click on the render menu and scroll down to where it says batch render. Batch render will render out the passes to a select folder. Once the rendering is complete, grab the files and comp it photoshop. Pretty easy stuff.

Take it easy mate and get some rest!
THX1138 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 11:30 PM   #37
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks: 158
Thanked 651 Times in 621 Posts
Default

Congrats to all that finished....I have had a quick look and they all look good so far....I will drop in after (lunchtime) to get a better look at the entries...well done to all. Im sorry I couldnt finish but the laptop just couldnt handle the renders...I need to read up on ways to use others render packages or ask the wife (meekly of course) for permision to build a new rig.....LOL. Anyway here is the .mb of what was going to be my entry if anyone is interested...the Spitfire was from my tutorial...the drums and pump were modelled from images and the chairs/cups/radio out of my head. Thanks for the oppurtunity and I am seriously disappointed I couldnt make the grade


cheers bullet

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/4090628/SM_B...r_Challenge.mb
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2011, 12:07 AM   #38
THX1138
14 Year Veteran
 
THX1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 2,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 69 Times in 68 Posts
Default

Cheers bullet1968. It would have been great to see your entry. Perhaps you will be able to do the next challenge.

Anyway, I tried to open the file you provided, but I had an error message pop up on me. Try to upload another one using the standard Maya renderer, and turn off mental ray. It might let my maya 6.5 open your maya 10 file.
THX1138 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2011, 12:11 AM   #39
daverave
The thin red line
 
daverave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: England
Posts: 4,471
Thanks: 101
Thanked 952 Times in 879 Posts
Default

I think the file is looking for the texture, If you want to upload a file like this do it as a project file with textures...........dave
__________________


Avatar Challenge Winner 2010
daverave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2011, 12:17 AM   #40
THX1138
14 Year Veteran
 
THX1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 2,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 69 Times in 68 Posts
Default

I get a file parse error/ bad size. I would just upload it as a bare bones project file. No special plug-ins turned on. Or upload as a bare bones .OBJ file, that might work also.

Last edited by THX1138 : 03-02-2011 at 12:29 AM.
THX1138 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2011, 01:02 AM   #41
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks: 158
Thanked 651 Times in 621 Posts
Default

.ma??? guys........Im flat out at work now...hope this is what you meant???

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/4090628/Janu...ter_Bullet.zip


This was the intent...pretty simple really.....probably too simple
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes

Last edited by bullet1968 : 03-02-2011 at 01:05 AM.
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2011, 01:20 AM   #42
THX1138
14 Year Veteran
 
THX1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 2,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 69 Times in 68 Posts
Default

That worked. Although I had to change some details in the script file via word pad to make it compatible with Maya 6.5, but it worked.

Love the spitfire you did. Awesome stuff!
THX1138 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2011, 01:57 AM   #43
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks: 158
Thanked 651 Times in 621 Posts
Default

Thanks THX...that was a tutorial one...now I know a bit more I will redo that plane...later in the year...I would like it to be more clean and precies and add a bucket load of detail to it. Im sad I couldnt get the damn thing to work in the comp...I wanted to get the lighting etc right and then apply a discolouration (you know old photo) and scratches and stuff to it...give it that "Lost WW2 tapes) technicolour look LOL...anyway...I did have a go thats the main thing.

cheers bullet
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletinŽ Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.