Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 06-02-2011, 08:29 PM   #1
Shicabob
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Maya Requirements

Hello everyone,
I have been experimenting with Maya lately but everytime I try to use extrude on an imported image, Maya freezes.

So I went out and bought 2gb of RAM giving me a total of 4gb. Well that didn't solve the problem. My dad thinks it is the video card. I have an nVidia 8800GT. Is it my video card?

System specs:
Windows 7 Home
P5K SE Motherboard
Intel Core 2 Duo CPU E6550 @ 2.33GHz( 2CPU)
4096MB RAM
Direct X 11

Help please!

Edit: After putting in my 4gb, I can do extrude but it freezes and then takes a while to come back. It's very slow.

Last edited by Shicabob : 06-02-2011 at 08:42 PM.
Shicabob is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Shicabob For This Useful Post:
Old 07-02-2011, 03:27 AM   #2
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,371
Thanks: 74
Thanked 709 Times in 642 Posts
Default

What kind of imported image are you trying to extrude on?
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stwert For This Useful Post:
Old 09-02-2011, 06:10 PM   #3
Ataraxy
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 258
Thanks: 2
Thanked 39 Times in 39 Posts
Default

what stwart said.


Show us a pic of what ur doing? Extruding shouldn't be that painful. even with 2gbs of RAM

Nvidia are relatively good when it comes to Maya whether it's a workstation or a desktop card.. but your 8800 has not been tested or certified by Autodesk to work.

I know it's a totally different card.. but I had a 6800 GT OC at one time that worked flawlessly.. so if u can.. explain more in detail what ur trying to extrude.

Image type

Image size..

and why your extruding a image on a object.
Ataraxy is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Ataraxy For This Useful Post:
Old 09-02-2011, 07:12 PM   #4
Joey81
Subscriber
 
Joey81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 242
Thanks: 2
Thanked 30 Times in 29 Posts
Default

What kind of maya & windows 7 re u using? 32/64bit ?
I had the same problem with EP curve tool....
Joey81 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Joey81 For This Useful Post:
Old 09-02-2011, 09:17 PM   #5
ctbram
Moderator
 
ctbram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 2,995
Thanks: 42
Thanked 582 Times in 532 Posts
Default

I used an evga 8800 gtx on a 32bit xp system for a very long time running maya 7 and 8. So I am not sure what the problem is. I can say that if you are running the 32bit version of windows 7 the extra 2gb of memory will have marginal effect. The most memory a program can use in a 32bit os is 2gb (well 3gb in theory but extended memory has been wonky in my experience). That being said you should now have a full 2gb available to maya and the remainder for the os and other apps.

You might want to check to see what you have running in the background. I have a friend that has an 8800 and plays wow a lot and he was also running unfolding at home and seti at home in the background, both of which make heavy use of the GPU in the graphics card and was causing his system to hang whenever he played wow. You could have something similar going on.

Also, just another note - In my experience I have found the nvideo drivers to be more stable then ATI drivers with Maya, but that does not mean they are always perfect, for instance the nvidia 260.99 drivers deprecated support for high quality rendering and view port 2.0 support in Maya. The new 266.58 drivers seem to have fixed that. The point being, that you have to be careful with the version of your video drivers because technically Maya does not guarantee non-workstation cards to work 100% with Maya and the drivers some times will break compatibility. You might want to use google to find the version of the drivers that will give you the best compatibility with your 8800 and the version of Maya you are using.
__________________
"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants." Sir Isaac Newton, 1675

Last edited by ctbram : 09-02-2011 at 09:30 PM.
ctbram is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ctbram For This Useful Post:
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
maya lagging omegaend Technical Issues 39 19-10-2012 12:18 PM
Maya Windows File corrupted on Mac cyranovb Technical Issues 4 14-07-2011 01:04 PM
Maya not keyframing properly! Gotmilk0112 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 01-02-2011 08:15 PM
glu3D and Maya bullet1968 Technical Issues 2 21-12-2010 05:27 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 11:32 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.