Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 10-02-2011, 07:29 PM   #1
brent_reel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 11
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Trouble opening files.

I was working on a model and i was figuring on going back and forth between my school computer and my home comp since my home one is alittle more beasty. but when i copied the project file into a usb and put it in the maya>projects when i tried to open it it gave me a error saying....

Errors have occurred while reading this scene that may result in data loss. Please check the Script editor for details

and the script editor says... something to complicated for me... so i was wondering if its something with usb drives, maybe because my home is a windows and school is a mac? idn but any help would be greatly appreciated =)

thanks all!
brent_reel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 10:33 PM   #2
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

Might want to post what the script editor reads out, or post a screen (with your drive paths blurred if you're worried about privacy). Otherwise its, not much to go on at all.
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Gen For This Useful Post:
Old 10-02-2011, 11:56 PM   #3
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,371
Thanks: 74
Thanked 709 Times in 642 Posts
Default

What versions of Maya are you and the school using? If yours is an older one, try checking Ignore version in the open options.
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stwert For This Useful Post:
brent_reel (11-02-2011)
Old 11-02-2011, 02:04 AM   #4
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks: 158
Thanked 651 Times in 621 Posts
Default

If you saved as an ascii I dont think OS would be the prob, I agree with stwert...version clash? and I also agree with Genny...post a screen or editor details to help this along. (BTW Gen...just checked out some of your work...love it...oh and your last name is SO cool!!!)

cheers bullet
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to bullet1968 For This Useful Post:
Old 11-02-2011, 05:42 AM   #5
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

Lol thank you! But why is my last name so cool?
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2011, 06:00 AM   #6
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks: 158
Thanked 651 Times in 621 Posts
Default

Because its mine as well cousin over the pond xxx
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to bullet1968 For This Useful Post:
Old 11-02-2011, 04:06 PM   #7
brent_reel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 11
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Open error

Stwert - as far as i no they are the same same version, they should be the newest student version, 10 i think. but i would like to try that. im still very new to maya so if you could give me alittle map of were to go like window>some>this>that and what not that would be nice.

also like many suggested ill post some pics of the error and what was in the scrip editor.

Thanks for all the quick responses! my first post here and its looking like a great community!
Attached Thumbnails
  
brent_reel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2011, 05:09 PM   #8
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

@ Bullet - I had my suspicions

@ Brent - Yeah you're trying to open a Maya 2011 file in Maya 2010.

The "Ignore Version" checkbox is under File > Open Scene > option box.
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Gen For This Useful Post:
brent_reel (11-02-2011)
Old 11-02-2011, 06:44 PM   #9
brent_reel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 11
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

alright thanks you guys! it was the opening version thing. so thanks GecT and stwert! i got it to come up but it still gives me the first error message? all my mesh and animation and stuff is there so should it all work ok? ish atleast =)
brent_reel is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to brent_reel For This Useful Post:
Old 11-02-2011, 07:33 PM   #10
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,371
Thanks: 74
Thanked 709 Times in 642 Posts
Default

Yes, I think if everything appears to be present and functioning properly, it's safe to assume the "some data loss" is just a benign warning as a result of transferring to an older version. I have had it though where nothing showed up even with "ignore version" checked, so glad that it's working for you.
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Missing Exe files Gingerman Technical Issues 2 20-12-2010 12:54 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.