Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 01-03-2011, 04:18 PM   #1
hawkrider
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default help make middle-mouse button work with Maya!

Help! Running Maya 2011.5 on a Mac Pro, running OS-X 10.6.6. (Dual 2.4 Ghz Quads, 12 Gb RAM)
Forced to use a Dell standard, 3-button mouse, there is some strange mapping for the buttons.
LMB is ok. RMB is ok, but MMB is messed up.

The Scrollwheel works ok, but the middle mouse button simply does that 'Expos'e' thing (showing all the windoes on the desktop), and doesn't 'track' or allow pulling Hypershade tiles around, etc.

'System Preferences' offers no option for the middle mouse/scroll wheel.

How do I get the middle mouse button to work as it should?

Thanx!
hawkrider is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to hawkrider For This Useful Post:
Old 01-03-2011, 06:17 PM   #2
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,371
Thanks: 74
Thanked 709 Times in 642 Posts
Default

It should be under System Prefs (that would be my expectation anyway, interesting that it doesn't seem to be there). Google a solution for mac, I don't think this could be changed in maya.
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stwert For This Useful Post:
Old 01-03-2011, 06:28 PM   #3
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,371
Thanks: 74
Thanked 709 Times in 642 Posts
Default

Okay, try going into System Prefs, then to Expose and Spaces, and turn off MMB as a hotkey for whatever it's doing. Then give your MMB a try in maya.
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stwert For This Useful Post:
Old 01-03-2011, 08:16 PM   #4
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

Open System Prefs like Stwert said and click on ExposÚ & Spaces
In the middle it'll have all the short cuts you can use to use this stupid feature
just turn off the mouse short cuts and you'll be fine. you only need the keyboard short cuts for this stuff and if you need to use it regularly just use the active screen corners.
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Chirone For This Useful Post:
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
maya lagging omegaend Technical Issues 39 19-10-2012 12:18 PM
Maya Windows File corrupted on Mac cyranovb Technical Issues 4 14-07-2011 01:04 PM
Maya not keyframing properly! Gotmilk0112 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 01-02-2011 08:15 PM
3d mouse iamcreasy Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 9 08-01-2011 12:30 AM
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin« Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.