Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 02-03-2011, 08:21 PM   #1
lilnik
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 22
Thanks: 1
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default nCloth

I've got a ship flag and sails that I wanna animate using nCloth. I did the sails and it all worked fine but then when I made the flag and converted it to nCloth the wind direction and wind speed keep changing to be the same as the sails and when I try and change them it changes the sails as well. Problem since I want them to go in different directions. Am I just being really stupid and doing something simple wrong?
lilnik is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to lilnik For This Useful Post:
Old 02-03-2011, 09:38 PM   #2
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Thanks: 4
Thanked 298 Times in 288 Posts
Default

wouldn't you just have one wind direction... isn't there just one wind direction in reality?

anyway i guess if there is not. would the dynamic relationship editor not help. link one wind to the sails and one wind to the flag.

do they share the same nucleus?
honestdom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 08:03 AM   #3
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

If you have 2 wind fields you might want to set the cloth shape up to use only one wind field by using the dynamic realtionship editor.

Cheers

Steve
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to gster123 For This Useful Post:
Old 03-03-2011, 10:45 AM   #4
lilnik
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 22
Thanks: 1
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

They were sharing the same nucleus. I didn't realise they automatically got assigned nucleus1 when yuo converted to nCloth. Fixed now. Thanks for the replies
lilnik is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP gtovey Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 5 25-02-2011 05:09 PM
Tank track with ncloth daverave Work In Progress 94 08-01-2011 12:32 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.