Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 19-03-2011, 02:29 AM   #1
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default correct way to get multiple UVs to show up on the texture editor

I seem to run into this problem every time i try arrange UVs in Maya and I've never seen anyone have this issue before

I'm not sure how to get the UVs of multiple objects to show up all at the same time and move the UVs of one of those objects while still seeing the others.

Everytime I do manage to do it I never know how I got there.
I'll select a few objects and they show up in the texture editor. then when I go to select a UV (or group of UVs) the others just disappear.

how do I stop them from disappearing?
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-03-2011, 02:56 AM   #2
skippyk39
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 84
Thanks: 1
Thanked 14 Times in 13 Posts
Default

If I understand what you're trying to do, select one object and go to UV component mode. Right click over your next object, without selecting it, and select UV. Repeat for all the objects you need.

Then, in your texture editor, right click>UV. Now you should be able to select your UV's and move them around with the other UV shells remaining. As long as you don't return to object mode, they should remain.

Hope that helps.
__________________
http://www.kevincincinnati.com/
skippyk39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-03-2011, 02:59 AM   #3
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

yeah, that's definitely one way to do it. I'm sure ive fluked it before without having to go through all the objects in question.
It does seem like there should be a quicker way to do it though... doesn't exactly scale up too well when you have more than a few objects to look at
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-03-2011, 03:25 AM   #4
skippyk39
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 84
Thanks: 1
Thanked 14 Times in 13 Posts
Default

Think I just figured out the quicker way. With all your objects selected, along the status line, click on select by component type (tapping F8 also switches to component mode), than click on the sphere, and it'll put all your selected objects into UV mode. It should then work the same in the texture editor.
__________________
http://www.kevincincinnati.com/
skippyk39 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to skippyk39 For This Useful Post:
Chirone (19-03-2011)
Old 19-03-2011, 08:26 AM   #5
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks: 158
Thanked 651 Times in 621 Posts
Default

LOL I have the same problem and it drives me NUTS....I do get them all to show as well but forget what I did...aaahhhhhh Maya...thanks skippy I will try that
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-03-2011, 11:28 PM   #6
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

hmmm, that seems to work, thanks skippy!
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with Texture Bump Maps rockit Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 5 14-03-2011 06:30 AM
make texture grow? Armandz Maya Materials & Textures 3 03-03-2011 09:25 PM
trouble with graph editor Tim Collings Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 3 27-02-2011 05:33 AM
Texture a NURBS surface without dynamic stretching esheldon Maya Materials & Textures 0 26-02-2011 09:14 PM
Wood Texture , how can I use it? Need help PLZ dubai3d Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 9 18-02-2011 09:30 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.