Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!


Go Back   Simply Maya User Community - Maya Tutorials > Lounges > Technical Issues
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 30-03-2011, 05:11 AM   #1
Jaggerbone
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5
Thanks: 2
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default Successfull created a hole in model! But when smooth out model, holes becomes weird..

Hello everyone! ^_^


I ran into a problem. I've managed to create a hole into my model but when I smooth it out by pressing the keypad number 2, the holes became weird. I've tried smoothing out the model first then create the hole but the object became back polygon-ish.

So the question is how am I suppose to maintain the perfect hole with the my object smoothed out?
Attached Thumbnails
  
Jaggerbone is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jaggerbone For This Useful Post:
Old 30-03-2011, 06:59 AM   #2
Perfecto
Registered User
 
Perfecto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: TN (USA)
Posts: 1,882
Thanks: 8
Thanked 127 Times in 119 Posts
Default

It could be a result of your edge flow, can you post a wireframe shot for us to see?
__________________
Don't be satisfied with what you can do but rather strive to do the things you can't do!
Exceed Expectations!
Perfecto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-03-2011, 07:51 AM   #3
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

It looks like you have used boolians to make the holes.

Boolians always (unless you know what they do and where to use them) cause issues with the Geo.

Post up a wireframe and we will be able to help out a bit more.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to gster123 For This Useful Post:
Old 30-03-2011, 10:45 AM   #4
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks: 158
Thanked 651 Times in 621 Posts
Default

I agree with gster....I say you have used a boolean....also did you 'smooth' the geo proper in the Mesh>Smooth tab up the top? as the preview is just that...a preview and it does not smooth it techinally.

ctbram has done a tutorial in here somewhere on a couple of methods of making holes in geo...find them..excellent tutorage, the man is a legend.

I dont know what you are making...but if it is booleans you need...then you will have to go Mesh>Smooth and divide it maybe a couple of times (ie do it again)..this will leave the geo PERMANENTLY smooth mate...so make this decision wisely..it cant be reversed if you save the file (overwrite)....maybe save as project2.mb so you can go back to the older one if you dont lie it.

Once you smooth the geo then boolean..then you will NOT have to smooth the geo again and the holes will maintain their integrity...remember too if you are using cylinders give them at least 30 divisions..as you wont be able to smooth the geo so you want smooth looking holes. I will post a pic in an hour if you need to clarify mate.

cheers bullet
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to bullet1968 For This Useful Post:
Jaggerbone (30-03-2011)
Old 30-03-2011, 11:01 AM   #5
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by bullet1968 View Post
I dont know what you are making...but if it is booleans you need...then you will have to go Mesh>Smooth and divide it maybe a couple of times (ie do it again)..this will leave the geo PERMANENTLY smooth mate...so make this decision wisely..
Not entirely. If you have the history on you can go into the smooth node in the attributes and adjust the continuity back ot 0 to get rid of the smooth.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to gster123 For This Useful Post:
bullet1968 (30-03-2011)
Old 30-03-2011, 11:06 AM   #6
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks: 158
Thanked 651 Times in 621 Posts
Default

LOL I didnt bloody know that steve LOL...I wore out my CTRL Z key quite a bit early on...I said it wrong methinks..I meant if you save and bake it..then can you still go back gster??? after the save? and yes I leave history on until I think I need to clean it

cheers bullet
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-03-2011, 11:28 AM   #7
Jaggerbone
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5
Thanks: 2
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

0_0 WOWOW!! It works!! XD I can finally complete my model properly!! Once Im done, I'm gonna let u guys see it as a thank-you gift! ^_^
Jaggerbone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-03-2011, 11:35 AM   #8
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks: 158
Thanked 651 Times in 621 Posts
Default

LOL no worries mate...at least you are having fun..which is what it ia all about

cheers bullet
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-03-2011, 05:14 PM   #9
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,371
Thanks: 74
Thanked 709 Times in 642 Posts
Default

Regarding smooth: http://simplymaya.com/forum/showthread.php?t=35308 post 9
Thanks to bullet for suggesting that as a FAQ.
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to stwert For This Useful Post:
bullet1968 (30-03-2011)
Old 30-03-2011, 05:57 PM   #10
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks: 158
Thanked 651 Times in 621 Posts
Default

stwert you are a legend for the FAQ...well done
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to bullet1968 For This Useful Post:
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to make my model move? bemmycute2005 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 5 17-04-2015 09:09 PM
oops. Cut leaves hole. Hole to close? KaisoArt Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 3 25-03-2011 09:53 PM
Rectangular hole in cylinder Sentence27 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 4 08-03-2011 07:12 PM
smooth frame tube dickyboylewis Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 3 25-02-2011 06:11 AM
Bump map distortions from an imported model rockit Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 5 24-12-2010 10:55 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.