Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 27-03-2011, 07:04 PM   #16
Nilla
Administrator
 
Nilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Prague
Posts: 753
Thanks: 28
Thanked 233 Times in 186 Posts
Default

SkyMarshall, I feel your pain and I just wanted to tell you that the most difficult part when you start out is actually making your way around the Maya interface which is a bit of a project on its own. Once you get past that things will get a lot easier, and in this time you'll get stuck on little things that you'll (hopefully )be laughing at a few months down the line. Watch the short videos that come with Maya because they'll really help you here, also have a look at the Free Fridays and the Free Tutorials, start with the "Glass Jug" and "Interior Design" they're straight forward and if you work through them you'll have a good idea of how to move around the interface.

For the GI part 1 is the most difficult part because Jay uses a custom shelf which is why you're confused I believe. Make sure you are in the polygons menu set at the top, you'll find a submenu there called "edit mesh" where all the tools Jay are using will be (split polygon and insert edge loop tool). You can also get these tools up by shift + right mouse click through the hotbox.

I also got what you mean by "front-back", he is working on an instance which he creates at 2.50 in part 1 so watch that again. But with your object selected go edit - duplicate options box.

I hope that helps a bit on the way, and just keep posting up on the forum when you get stuck that's why it's here You just need to get past the first part and from there you shouldn't have any problems, it's just gonna take some time and hard work.
Nilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-2011, 09:56 PM   #17
Jay
Senior Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,234
Thanks: 39
Thanked 425 Times in 381 Posts
Default

LOL Cheers Dave
Jay
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-2011, 07:35 AM   #18
SkyMarshall
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 25
Thanks: 3
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Hi there again.

Yesterday I started all over again on the modelling of the GI head. Thought that would be an good idea, now that I feel abit more comfortable with toos etc in maya.


As I buildt my polygon cube, adjusted it to the right size, then cut it in half, and then duplicate it. When all that is done, and I use the border edge option, I can see that my cube haven't been connected together.
I double checked that I've used the same settings as Jay when I duplicated. So I try to use the snap to point tool to try to get em together before I start modelling. But it never goes to the point I want. Never snap's together. Not sure what Im doing wrong there. Seems like it's just choosing an rando point and connects.

Anyone have any Idea what im doing wrong?

Cheers
SkyMarshall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-2011, 08:12 AM   #19
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks: 158
Thanked 651 Times in 621 Posts
Default

I havent done the tut mate but I would have thought Jay copied the mesh in 'instance' so the 2 halves dont need to be joined? I could be wrong.(could some one clarify this?)

Or if they are meant to be joined and Jay has reflection turned on (in the move tool options)....you need to 'Polgygons>Mesh>Combine' first up...then you need to highlight the vertices where the join is...and then go 'Polygons>EditMesh>Merge and click on the little option box next to merge...set the value to 0.01 and hit apply...this will set this value from now on when you merge and also merge the verts....if they dont merge then increase this value a bit...selecting apply will set this value as an automatic distance.

cheers bullet
Attached Thumbnails
  
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-2011, 08:17 AM   #20
Jay
Senior Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,234
Thanks: 39
Thanked 425 Times in 381 Posts
Default

mmm possible i used the instancing as this was done in maya 6, a few years back now

J
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-2011, 08:27 AM   #21
SkyMarshall
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 25
Thanks: 3
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Thanks alot guys.

I'll try to work abit on it later on today when I come home from work.
Thanks a bunch all
SkyMarshall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-03-2011, 09:51 PM   #22
SkyMarshall
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 25
Thanks: 3
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

This is how far I've come. Tryin to keep a clean mesh as you advised, tho it can be really tough sometimes.

Noticed now that I have a few places to clean the mesh abit
Attached Thumbnails
 
SkyMarshall is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to SkyMarshall For This Useful Post:
saad1 (10-08-2011)
Old 30-03-2011, 11:48 PM   #23
David
SM Site Programmer
 
David's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 2,991
Thanks: 49
Thanked 385 Times in 300 Posts
Default

Considering your new to Maya thats pretty bloody good. If you can make it all the way through this tutorial I take my hat of to you.

Dave
__________________
Worst Response To A Crisis:
From a readers' Q and A column in TV GUIDE: "If we get involved in a nuclear war, would the electromagnetic pulses from exploding bombs damage my videotapes?"
David is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-2011, 08:06 AM   #24
SkyMarshall
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 25
Thanks: 3
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Thanks alot Dave.

I had a little peak at the 3rd vidoe of the tutorial, and it's the ear that's next. Looked quite complicated.
Tho I'll get through it one way or another
SkyMarshall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 11:50 AM   #25
SkyMarshall
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 25
Thanks: 3
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Hi there everyone.

Thought I would post a picture of how my work is going with my GI. Remember that this is my first project ever in any Maya or 3d program ever

Another thing I want to say, is that I want to thank Jay for this tutorial. I've learned so much from him.
Since he not only tells you how, but why aswell you learn so much more. And he keeps talking to you throughout the tut, so you don't feel so lonely when you sit there modeling alone
Keep up the good work Jay.
I for sure will buy more of your tutorials.

Cheers.

Skyamrshall
Attached Thumbnails
 
SkyMarshall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 01:21 PM   #26
Jay
Senior Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,234
Thanks: 39
Thanked 425 Times in 381 Posts
Default

hey SkyMarshall

Many thanks for the kind words, really appreciated. Its looking pretty good to me from here - good job that man!!

We are currently in the process of a couple of new tutes, one of them I think you'll enjoy for sure!!

anyway its under wraps until its release mwhahahaha!!

cheers
Jay
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 02:26 PM   #27
ctbram
Moderator
 
ctbram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 2,995
Thanks: 42
Thanked 582 Times in 532 Posts
Default

Jay, replacing a vacuum tube in his first computer...




Jay's, first critically acclaimed model. It took one week to render!

__________________
"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants." Sir Isaac Newton, 1675

Last edited by ctbram : 10-08-2011 at 06:19 PM.
ctbram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 05:43 PM   #28
SkyMarshall
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 25
Thanks: 3
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Ha ha ha.. Epic post ctbram
SkyMarshall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2011, 11:09 PM   #29
Texan
Texan
 
Texan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

That's really good Sky.

If you think that's bad you should see some of my freestyle stuff. (No money for tutorials)
Texan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-08-2011, 12:11 AM   #30
Jay
Senior Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,234
Thanks: 39
Thanked 425 Times in 381 Posts
Default

Cheers Rick

My PC is still like it. I have to buy a new hamster every day as they tend to die in the wheel generating all that power to keep it going

J
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stylized Bust Classical Work In Progress 3 24-02-2011 05:40 PM
Cartoon Walk-Finished work maheshsubbiah Finished Work 7 25-12-2010 06:40 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.