Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 07-04-2011, 01:33 PM   #1
se7enhedd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 222
Thanks: 8
Thanked 56 Times in 55 Posts
Default disconnecting..

hi, I've a real simple problem. so simple that googleing it throws up way more complex scenarios.
I just need to disconnect an image file from a colour - I clicked on the checkerboard and added the .jpg, but now I don't want it there. I'm sure I've done this before in a tutorial but right-clicking etc. does nothing..?

Last edited by se7enhedd : 06-04-2012 at 11:18 AM.
se7enhedd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2011, 01:43 PM   #2
LauriePriest
Moderator
 
LauriePriest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: London
Posts: 1,001
Thanks: 0
Thanked 59 Times in 51 Posts
Default

Rich click on the attribute itself e.g. specular, thats where the menu is to break the connection.

You can also do this in the connection editor in the hypershade, as well as delete the file texture and the placement node if you dont want to reuse it / keep everything clean.
__________________
FX supervisor - double negative
LauriePriest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2011, 01:46 PM   #3
se7enhedd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 222
Thanks: 8
Thanked 56 Times in 55 Posts
Default

got it - thanks. something else that makes no logical sense... =\
se7enhedd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2011, 03:47 PM   #4
LauriePriest
Moderator
 
LauriePriest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: London
Posts: 1,001
Thanks: 0
Thanked 59 Times in 51 Posts
Default

Sure it does, its the same with every attribute in maya.
__________________
FX supervisor - double negative
LauriePriest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2011, 05:30 PM   #5
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,371
Thanks: 74
Thanked 709 Times in 642 Posts
Default

I agree, it doesn't make much sense for "break connection" however, there's several other menu items that are specific to the attribute (e.g. key selected) that wouldn't make sense anywhere else, so it's just a matter of learning how it is and going with it
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.