Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 07-04-2011, 11:36 PM   #1
mastone
Maniacal boy king of Babylon
 
mastone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the netherlands
Posts: 1,605
Thanks: 1
Thanked 59 Times in 58 Posts
Default Maya 2012

Have been fiddling with viewport 2.0, I know it has been on the internet but those were with Autodesk demofiles perfectly scripted , but to see it actually works with my models is fun for a change ( I did have experience some hick ups but that's probably because I have an old GPU ( Quadro FX 4600).

It isn't much but have a look

http://www.eyellem.nl/yoda.mp4
mastone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 02:39 AM   #2
tweetytunes
Ravage3d - 10 years and still going
 
tweetytunes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bolton - UK
Posts: 2,419
Thanks: 62
Thanked 159 Times in 152 Posts
Default

Looks blured in places (hands very much so)
__________________
All my images are in HD - Plz right click and view image.

3D Molder at AO.com.

X2 ,,
tweetytunes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 05:17 AM   #3
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,371
Thanks: 74
Thanked 709 Times in 642 Posts
Default

I was just going to ask... is that like a DOF preview thing?
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2011, 11:12 AM   #4
mastone
Maniacal boy king of Babylon
 
mastone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the netherlands
Posts: 1,605
Thanks: 1
Thanked 59 Times in 58 Posts
Default

yes it is dof.
I"ll stick to 2011 for the time though, there is to much stuff not to my liking in 2012,try -poly-extruding a face and you"ll see instantly what I mean , another useless addition to the toolset which clutters the workspace, it leaves my wondering when 3ds Maya will come out.
Another thing is that there used to be a time when I pressed and hold Q and LMB I could pick my selectionmethod( ie Lasso, paintselection etc)this doesn't work anymore.
Now I haven't tested it thoroughly and only spend like an hour on it but if I find stuff like this in such a short time then I don't want to see it any further.
I also have a lot of plug ins ( like renderman ) which doesn't work with 2012

I think Autodesk really needs to rethink their policy regarding updating, I'd say start from a 3 year upgrade cycle:
Year one: new version is released, gather feedback from customers
Year two: somewhere in this year they should bring out a pointrelease based on customer feedback,after that again gather feedback from customers ( maybe even consult big companies like ILM/Pixar/DNEG etc) and start working on a new release
Year three: release a new version.

Because at this time they just buy plug inns ( turtle/DMM etc) slap stuff in from native packages ( motionbuilder's human IK, 3ds Max caddies and viewport technology) and basically **** up the core that is maya.
I now that there are a lot of scripters/plug in writers out there who build their plug ins according to " their logic" but I think that when you are the developer for maya you should respect the way Maya works and really integrate new stuff so that it feels like you are using a Maya tool instead of a plug in.
As of now they fail misserably in that respect and I am wondering how many people from Alias development still work on Maya and how much from the Max team now works there.
Don't get me wrong the viewport stuff is really good and even works well with my old Quadro FX 4600, but that's about it for me at least.
mastone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2011, 11:33 PM   #5
tweetytunes
Ravage3d - 10 years and still going
 
tweetytunes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bolton - UK
Posts: 2,419
Thanks: 62
Thanked 159 Times in 152 Posts
Default

I have installed it, opened it had a quick look around then shut it down until I fin the game character - Will have a good look around then
__________________
All my images are in HD - Plz right click and view image.

3D Molder at AO.com.

X2 ,,
tweetytunes is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maya Windows File corrupted on Mac cyranovb Technical Issues 4 14-07-2011 01:04 PM
New to maya need some advice Lamosa Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 4 14-04-2011 08:20 PM
Rendering Problem NoxRequiem Lighting & Rendering 6 01-04-2011 10:39 AM
Maya 2012 details up tweetytunes Members Lounge 21 07-03-2011 11:14 AM
New User. Sketchup editiing in Maya KaisoArt Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 4 02-03-2011 06:56 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.