Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 09-04-2011, 11:57 PM   #31
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by elephantinc View Post
Nope; just translating UIimages.
mmmmmmm
i suppose given that it's a real simple game you can get away with that.
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2011, 12:04 AM   #32
elephantinc
Level 32 pachyderm
 
elephantinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,859
Thanks: 12
Thanked 43 Times in 37 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Chirone View Post
mmmmmmm
i suppose given that it's a real simple game you can get away with that.
Is there any reason (other than speed) why I wouldn't be able to?
elephantinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2011, 12:06 AM   #33
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

probably not. it just seems weird doing it that way
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2011, 12:20 AM   #34
elephantinc
Level 32 pachyderm
 
elephantinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,859
Thanks: 12
Thanked 43 Times in 37 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Chirone View Post
probably not. it just seems weird doing it that way
It's because I've never really used CALayers.

Edit: I promise it will get more exciting once you reach the Memory management unit (which is obviously an elephant)

Last edited by elephantinc : 10-04-2011 at 12:33 AM.
elephantinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2011, 03:29 AM   #35
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

i was wondering where the elephant is...
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2011, 03:34 PM   #36
elephantinc
Level 32 pachyderm
 
elephantinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,859
Thanks: 12
Thanked 43 Times in 37 Posts
Default

Don't suppose you have any idea what the inside of a MMU looks like?

At the minute the only thing I can think of is a mail sorting centre run by elephants...

I've added accelerometer calibration, made the spider smaller, plus a few other tweaks...

edit: added collisions (you stop when you hit a byte) and the progress bar now works. I still need to animated the destruction of bytes when you hit them (might just scramble them, change their value), make you invulnerable for a while (with flashing) after hitting one and I need to put in the progress counter, speed counter and collision counter (plus some kind of progress reset if you have too many collisions). After all that I can get on with the MMU boss and start to worry about sound.

Another edit: Got the HUD working. Hope to deal with the rest of the collisions stuff today but I don't see where I'll get time to.

More edit: Scratch that, I did it.
Attached Thumbnails
 

Last edited by elephantinc : 11-04-2011 at 11:16 PM.
elephantinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-2011, 06:49 AM   #37
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

wait... so crashing into the bytes that are coming at you is bad because it'll make the elephant more powerful and if you do it too much you'll have to start the trail all over again?

what happens when you reach the end?
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-2011, 01:29 PM   #38
elephantinc
Level 32 pachyderm
 
elephantinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,859
Thanks: 12
Thanked 43 Times in 37 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Chirone View Post
wait... so crashing into the bytes that are coming at you is bad because it'll make the elephant more powerful and if you do it too much you'll have to start the trail all over again?

what happens when you reach the end?
If you do it too much you have to start again but I think that limit is going to be quite high, something that very few people will do. The original plan was to make the anti virus program more powerful in the CPU but now I'm not sure...

Once you get to about 60% of the way along the bus you reach the MMU, where you face the elephant and the resulting battle catapults you along the rest of the bus and to the CPU.
Once in the CPU you have to beat up programs for their time slices so you can get executed, whilst avoiding the anti virus program.
I still haven't decided what the anti virus program will look like though.
elephantinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-2011, 10:16 PM   #39
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

how do you plan on beating up programs?
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-2011, 10:53 PM   #40
elephantinc
Level 32 pachyderm
 
elephantinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,859
Thanks: 12
Thanked 43 Times in 37 Posts
Default

With an identity disc of course!

Tron references aside I'm not really sure yet, I thought it might just be a matter of catching them. I thought about being able to spin webs to try and slow them down.
But it would be nice if it sort of made sense in the sense of a computer in a lateral kind of way.....
I'm not even sure what the programs will look like yet...
elephantinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2011, 05:29 PM   #41
elephantinc
Level 32 pachyderm
 
elephantinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,859
Thanks: 12
Thanked 43 Times in 37 Posts
Default

It's best if you don't ask.

This will be part of the opening movie, I think it will be faster to actually make it then try to explain. XD
Attached Thumbnails
 
elephantinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2011, 01:59 PM   #42
elephantinc
Level 32 pachyderm
 
elephantinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,859
Thanks: 12
Thanked 43 Times in 37 Posts
Default

I've redone the graphics, I wasn't really liking the pea green effect (I've kept it on the instructions/introduction screen though just for retro fun). I also added the black/white bits at the side and the grey underneath to give a better sense of movement.
I've also done quite a lot of work on the opening movie, but it's not finished yet (that's where the elephant thing comes into (you didn't think I'd make a game without involving elephants in some way did you? ).
I'm also thinking of adding something you pick up for points and a multiplier system, where the more you pick up in a row the higher the multiplier gets and if you hit a byte the multiplier goes down. Not sure though. I think I'll try it and see how it works but what could I have as the pick up? What do software spiders eat? Time slices? Bugs?

Edit: I just looked at the start of this thread. Ha, I was aiming for easter?! That was pretty unsuccessful then Ah well, school work got in the way, which is probably more important.
Attached Thumbnails
 

Last edited by elephantinc : 19-05-2011 at 02:16 PM.
elephantinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2011, 10:28 AM   #43
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

i ran your code and it looked like the white bars were jiggling until i went 2x on the iPad.
if those are meant to be electric streams I think you should look at showing it some other way. You know how you can use the lightning effect in Maya? you could do something like that. render out some lightning strikes, make it match the rest of your artwork, and make an image sequence (i think UIImageView can do image sequences)

it's also way too easy to hit the bytes, the spider is pretty wide. imo you should make the spider skinnier than the streams that the bytes are flying along or make the bytes skinnier. Or at least for the first few levels. or perhaps you have some penalty bonus that makes you fat and more likely to collide with the bytes

also, you should rotate your images and shrink them (you can do that in preview)
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2011, 11:57 AM   #44
elephantinc
Level 32 pachyderm
 
elephantinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,859
Thanks: 12
Thanked 43 Times in 37 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Chirone View Post
i ran your code and it looked like the white bars were jiggling until i went 2x on the iPad.
if those are meant to be electric streams I think you should look at showing it some other way. You know how you can use the lightning effect in Maya? you could do something like that. render out some lightning strikes, make it match the rest of your artwork, and make an image sequence (i think UIImageView can do image sequences)

it's also way too easy to hit the bytes, the spider is pretty wide. imo you should make the spider skinnier than the streams that the bytes are flying along or make the bytes skinnier. Or at least for the first few levels. or perhaps you have some penalty bonus that makes you fat and more likely to collide with the bytes

also, you should rotate your images and shrink them (you can do that in preview)
I haven't updated the 1x graphics yet because I'm still messing with them, that's why it's doing weird things

You're not the first to suggest making it smaller but the thing is the 1x is a small as it can get, so I think I'll have to shrink the bytes (I think I'm going to wish I didn't use literals again )

The grey things the move on the background aren't really supposed to be anything, I was just trying to give a sense of movement.
elephantinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2011, 12:07 PM   #45
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

oh, i thought the 2x only affects the iphone4, not the iPad

it's not too late to change the literals to constants or variables!
Code:
use something like
#define MY_CONSTANT    60
or
const static int MY_CONSTANT = 60;
or in your header
int myVariable;
and in the implementation file 
myVariable = 60;
(60 is just a random number i chose)

you could use little dots and make them appear like they are on the board instead of that graphic to convey movement. or some sort of tiling wires (graphic or programatically drawn)
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.