Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 07-05-2007, 06:52 AM   #91
mastone
Maniacal boy king of Babylon
 
mastone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the netherlands
Posts: 1,605
Thanks: 1
Thanked 59 Times in 58 Posts
Default

thxs for the compliment
i'm using a low poly model for animation and used a smooth proxy for the high model as a target, i don't know what a wrap deformer is
And i will look into the smooth binding thing
thanks for the advice gster.
mastone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2007, 08:17 AM   #92
mastone
Maniacal boy king of Babylon
 
mastone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the netherlands
Posts: 1,605
Thanks: 1
Thanked 59 Times in 58 Posts
Default

okay, i've finally had some time to go at maya again and made an "alternative" lightsaber.
i used a sampler info node connected to a v-ramp(facing ratio-v-coord) to make it look like as if the saber has a bright core....
...but when i look at it at a slightly angular view this effect doesn't last, my question is; is there a way to maintain the bright saber core(as shown in the picture)?

I've just started making some controls to the character and i tried to make the lightsaber stick to the hand and follow the rotations of the hand.
because the saber consists out of two poly-objects i grouped them into a saber group created a locator and used a point and orient constrain so that i can move and rotate the saber with ease.
I used a SDK-control on the armcontrol to make the fist which holds the saber, i placed the saber within his "fist", created a new locator snapped it to the lightsaber -locator then orient and point-constrained the saberlocator to the newly created locator and the point and orient constrained the new locator to the arm controls.
It didn't work:headbang:
does anyone know a better way to do this?
Attached Thumbnails
 
mastone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2007, 08:19 PM   #93
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

found this little tutorial that might help you out

http://www.jonathanrnelson.com/tutor...p_tutorial.htm
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2007, 01:50 AM   #94
mastone
Maniacal boy king of Babylon
 
mastone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the netherlands
Posts: 1,605
Thanks: 1
Thanked 59 Times in 58 Posts
Default

thanks for the link, man
And i figured out why facing ratio didn't work==>i didn't need it was just a plain ol" ramp that did the trick :headbang:
what a good nightsleep can do to a man:p
mastone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2007, 07:37 PM   #95
mastone
Maniacal boy king of Babylon
 
mastone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the netherlands
Posts: 1,605
Thanks: 1
Thanked 59 Times in 58 Posts
Default

Ok i'm getting fed up with his lightsaber now if i stay within a certain range of the lightsaber he renders just fine but when i zoom out to much it renders odd.(see picture)
I used shader glow for the glow and because the radius of th glow became to big(in my opinion) in comparisen to yoda i scaled down the saber geometry in x and z(read;radius)
thanks in advance
Attached Thumbnails
 
mastone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2007, 03:49 AM   #96
mastone
Maniacal boy king of Babylon
 
mastone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the netherlands
Posts: 1,605
Thanks: 1
Thanked 59 Times in 58 Posts
Default

Ok i've been modeling the sith a bith more and for the most part i've moddeled the scene where(i hope) all the action will take place.
I want to add some more buildings to the scene and some vehicles.
i want the building to be high in the sky, so i made 3 planes rotated them individuely and moved them in y and mapped a cloud texture to the transparency ta fake depth, but somehow it isn't working==>suggestions most welcome.
I will add a 3d container to simulate clouds on the point where the building intersects the "sky".
If someone knows how to create a realistic sky and /or knows how to light a large scene(i want the scene to be red and gloomy-sunset-) here's the place to put the knowledge
:bow:
Attached Thumbnails
 
mastone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2007, 03:50 AM   #97
mastone
Maniacal boy king of Babylon
 
mastone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the netherlands
Posts: 1,605
Thanks: 1
Thanked 59 Times in 58 Posts
Default

and the building.....
Attached Thumbnails
 
mastone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2007, 10:27 PM   #98
meredith
Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: new zealand
Posts: 193
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i must have missed this post somehow, the render at the top of this page will look amazing once finished, gonna keep watching this thread.
meredith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-05-2007, 08:22 PM   #99
mastone
Maniacal boy king of Babylon
 
mastone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the netherlands
Posts: 1,605
Thanks: 1
Thanked 59 Times in 58 Posts
Default

@meredith:
mastone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-2007, 07:53 AM   #100
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

hey Mastone,

On your sith, the eyes need more definition. Could you post a wire?
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-2007, 08:29 AM   #101
mastone
Maniacal boy king of Babylon
 
mastone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the netherlands
Posts: 1,605
Thanks: 1
Thanked 59 Times in 58 Posts
Default

i know what you mean gster, but i'm still in the roughing out stage, experimenting with textures and what not.
I appreciate the comment though
mastone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-2007, 08:35 AM   #102
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Personally I only would start to play with the textures once the models completed, otherwise your just going over old ground, uving, painting and whatnot.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-2007, 08:36 AM   #103
mastone
Maniacal boy king of Babylon
 
mastone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the netherlands
Posts: 1,605
Thanks: 1
Thanked 59 Times in 58 Posts
Default

i know what you mean gster, but i'm still in the roughing out stage, experimenting with textures and what not.
I appreciate the comment though
Attached Thumbnails
 
mastone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-2007, 09:27 AM   #104
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

I think that you could do with adding a few more edge loops in there to get more control of how the eyes are looking, also youve got 2 tris in the temple area, if you delete the middle line that makes up the tris then youve got it back to all quads, just a thought.

also with you lightsaber, i'm sure that a while ago (poss about a year) it was discussed in the effects forum (right at the botton on the forums home page) and some one used a jiggle diformer to sort it out, might be worth a look.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-2007, 07:35 PM   #105
farbtopf
Subscriber
 
farbtopf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: London
Posts: 520
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

hi, this is looking quite cool. It'll be quite a challenge to animate and choreograph a fight. Just out of curiosity, have you animated anything that complex before?
For your lightsaber glow, why not do it in post. After effects, shake etc.
That will give you a lot more control and if you want change you won't have to re-render.
There is a very good glow plugin, you can download a three week trial version for almost any composing app. and it works just like the full version when you render, no water marks or anything like that.

http://www.genarts.com/index.html

good luck
farbtopf is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.