Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 09-02-2008, 12:47 PM   #1
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default 8-bit vs. 16-bit

Hey guys,

I'm about to start texturing the pirate ship and I was messing around with PS's settings. Does anyone know what the difference is between 8-bit and 16-bit images (besides the size difference)? What are the pros and cons of each?

-Jr.Who
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2008, 01:03 PM   #2
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

16 bit images can hold more colours per channel than 8 bit (think its 256 levels compared to 64K levels on 16 bit), that gives them better quality when displaying lots of subtle colours in the range, but they take up more space on the HDD.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2008, 02:10 PM   #3
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

So, which would you prefer?
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2008, 02:12 PM   #4
Rhetoric Camel
Subscriber
 
Rhetoric Camel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Plattsburgh New York
Posts: 1,222
Thanks: 6
Thanked 28 Times in 23 Posts
Default

I personally always choose 16 bit.
__________________
- Mike

http://rhetoriccamel.blogspot.com
Rhetoric Camel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2008, 05:12 PM   #5
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

16 bit, but if your struggling for RAM at render time and can get away with it use 8.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2008, 05:29 PM   #6
LauriePriest
Moderator
 
LauriePriest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: London
Posts: 1,001
Thanks: 0
Thanked 59 Times in 51 Posts
Default

if you cant sacrifice 16 bit / 2d bit e.g. displacements etc then you can convert your massive textures to block ordered textures. Google it
LauriePriest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2008, 10:38 AM   #7
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

OK, I'll be going with 16-bit. Only problem is that it takes forever to save the file. I'll be doing some comparison pics later, if I remember.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2008, 11:32 AM   #8
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

How big you making the maps for it to take ages?
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2008, 11:37 AM   #9
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Originally posted by gster123
How big you making the maps for it to take ages?
I figured I'd try 4096 x 4096 to see the difference on the dimensions too.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2008, 11:46 AM   #10
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

You just can add more detial to it.

I pretty much dont go over 2k for a map (although I would use multiple maps head, body etc)

If your going so high with the maps you might run into memory probs at render time (or just waiting ages!)
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2008, 01:15 PM   #11
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

OK, switching back to 8-bits! Got sick of waiting over 30 seconds to save.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2008, 02:21 PM   #12
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

To save the image! Wow, think it takes about 5 seconds to save on mine, you not trying to save on some funkey settings, whats the file size?
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2008, 02:28 PM   #13
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Originally posted by gster123
To save the image! Wow, think it takes about 5 seconds to save on mine, you not trying to save on some funkey settings, whats the file size?
The PSD was around 130 MB. Remember that my computer's old.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2008, 02:43 PM   #14
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

hehe! No probs.

Tbh I would suggest that you try to get as much out of what youve got before going onto other stuff.

Just more of a pain for data handeling and manipulation, start off small and work up, theres no advantage jumping the gun, basics are the way forward!
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.