Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 26-01-2004, 11:15 PM   #1
e-volve
Registered User
 
e-volve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 21
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default A quick Hi, and an Anti-Aliasing Question

Hello! My name is Derek aka e-volve and I've been using Maya for about 2 years both professionally and for fun. I'm looking forward to being a part of this forum

Feel free to visit my website at the following url: http://e-volve.ca

One question I have is the following:

Is there any way to completely DISABLE anti-aliasing in Maya 5.1? I've been making some graphics for animated sequences with the background set to magenta (R255 G0 B255) so that it can act as a layer mask. Unfortunately, I've noticed that even at the lowest quality with the fewest samples, Maya still insists on doing a little antialiasing. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

Derek
e-volve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2004, 11:31 PM   #2
Akai
Registered User
 
Akai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 35
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hallo and welcome - nice model on your site
Akai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2004, 11:50 PM   #3
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

hmm, well, if you look in an object's attributes, under Render Stats, there's a section called Geometry Anti-Aliasing Override. The lowest setting you can give it is 1. Not sure if that gives you the results you want or not.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2004, 05:54 AM   #4
e-volve
Registered User
 
e-volve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 21
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Akai> Thanks for the welcome

mtmckinley> I've tried using the lowest settings on the render globals as well as in the overrides... to no avail. there is still a fine line of pixels that are partially anti-aliased... it's very odd how such a complete package can overlook something so trivial...

Anyhow, thanks for the help, though if anyone else has an answer, I'm all ears!

- D
e-volve is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.