Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 29-01-2004, 12:56 PM   #1
jakwag
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 55
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default ma - mb??

Hi

Simple question here. Whats the diffrence between a ma and a mb file?
__________________
: ) Jakob

<i>It's the "hard", that makes it great! - Tom Hanks</i>
jakwag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2004, 01:05 PM   #2
Akai
Registered User
 
Akai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 35
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

http://support.wolfram.com/mathemati...ks/binary.html
Akai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2004, 01:09 PM   #3
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

simpler explanation, save an mb and an ma file. Try and open each one in a text editor. One will work Basically an ascii version is exactly the same scene (Although it may be bigger in size) but you can read it and make changes to it. We use them here so we can script stuff to happen and parse the files and make changes without opening the scenes up.



Alan
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2004, 01:10 PM   #4
jakwag
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 55
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

so they do the same, but mb is better?
__________________
: ) Jakob

<i>It's the "hard", that makes it great! - Tom Hanks</i>
jakwag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2004, 01:12 PM   #5
jakwag
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 55
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I see... I think I'll keep from the programming for now, but sounds interesting. : )

Thanks for the answers both of you!
__________________
: ) Jakob

<i>It's the "hard", that makes it great! - Tom Hanks</i>
jakwag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2004, 01:13 PM   #6
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

no neither is paticularly better, they will do the exact same thing. Just that ma's are more useful for other stuff.
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.