Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 29-01-2004, 10:11 PM   #1
Clod
Registered User
 
Clod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Ireland
Posts: 201
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default Streaks on blade edge

I seem to be getting streaks in a weapon model I'm making, during rendering. The streaks are on the blade which is very sharp. What can I do to fix this, is there a way of increasing the zbuffer resolution? Would this even fix it?

I'd like to keep the blade this sharp but I'm afraid I might have to blunt it to fix the streaking.
Clod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2004, 10:25 PM   #2
ckyuk
Subscriber
 
ckyuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 1,334
Thanks: 2
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

can we see this blade?
ckyuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2004, 10:56 PM   #3
Clod
Registered User
 
Clod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Ireland
Posts: 201
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Here's some examples looking down from above showing the problem:

http://homepage.eircom.net/~sharpsho.../BladeYPos.jpg

http://homepage.eircom.net/~sharpsho...adeStreaks.jpg


If I go under the blade and look up the other side isn't streaked.
If I rotate the blade around a bit, they disappear sometimes aswell. I'm haven't a clue what's wrong.


Here's the scene if you want to take a look:
http://homepage.eircom.net/~sharpsho...ges/Example.mb
Clod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2004, 11:13 PM   #4
ckyuk
Subscriber
 
ckyuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 1,334
Thanks: 2
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

It's safe to say i haven't got a clue why.
ckyuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2004, 11:16 PM   #5
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

Increase your dmap resolution in your shadow settings.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-01-2004, 12:28 AM   #6
Clod
Registered User
 
Clod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Ireland
Posts: 201
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Great, It works!
Thanks Mike, I never would have thought of that.
Clod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-2004, 12:46 AM   #7
mclimer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 56
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

check the scale of the object. If the object is huge in comparison to the grid, that can cause this problem. If that's not it, have you messed with your camera attributes. Sometimes if you have the near plane clipping to low, or the far plane clipping to large, it can cause the streaks too.
mclimer is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.