Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 02-02-2004, 09:14 PM   #1
ckyuk
Subscriber
 
ckyuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 1,334
Thanks: 2
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default Maya on Red Hat Linux

I'm thinking of switching my Windows PC over to Red Hat Linux. I've just been on the Alias site and it says they do Maya for Red Hat Linux. But i'm not sure what version to get. On the Alias site it says maya is compatible with Red Hat Linux 8 but the latest version is version 9. Will Maya work on version 9 and is anyone here using Linux?
ckyuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2004, 09:19 PM   #2
roach105
Subscriber
 
roach105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: T.O Baby!
Posts: 1,016
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I have used it on Red Hat nine and worked. The only issues I found are support for graphics is not at par in some cases as windows is and also the vector renderer is not available. Other than that I worked great. My main reason for not sticking with it was network setup issues I ran into but nothing to do with Maya.
roach105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2004, 09:22 PM   #3
ckyuk
Subscriber
 
ckyuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 1,334
Thanks: 2
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

I'll go and get version 9 then. Network issues aren't a problem for me as i'm not networked.
ckyuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2004, 09:39 PM   #4
ckyuk
Subscriber
 
ckyuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 1,334
Thanks: 2
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

New question. Does anyone know a download manager that can resume downloads and handel files upto 650Mb? I'm using fresh download but the file is too big.
ckyuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2004, 10:13 PM   #5
fredriksson
Subscriber
 
fredriksson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 571
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

use any ftp client and get the (presumably ) ISO from a ftp instead
__________________
Björn 'santa' Fredriksson

<A href=http://www.bjornfredriksson.com>Site Online.</A>

Check out our 1on1on1 battle for the SandCrawlers.
fredriksson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2004, 10:50 PM   #6
ckyuk
Subscriber
 
ckyuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 1,334
Thanks: 2
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

started downloading. it's going to take around 50 hours per disc on my 56k and there's 3 discs.
ckyuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2004, 10:56 PM   #7
fredriksson
Subscriber
 
fredriksson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 571
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

uh, get someone on broadband to mail you the CDs, that'd be faster
__________________
Björn 'santa' Fredriksson

<A href=http://www.bjornfredriksson.com>Site Online.</A>

Check out our 1on1on1 battle for the SandCrawlers.
fredriksson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2004, 11:07 PM   #8
David
SM Site Programmer
 
David's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 2,991
Thanks: 49
Thanked 385 Times in 300 Posts
Default

Originally posted by ckyuk
started downloading. it's going to take around 50 hours per disc on my 56k and there's 3 discs.
Email me your address I'll mail you the Red Hat disks.

David.
__________________
Worst Response To A Crisis:
From a readers' Q and A column in TV GUIDE: "If we get involved in a nuclear war, would the electromagnetic pulses from exploding bombs damage my videotapes?"
David is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2004, 11:08 PM   #9
ckyuk
Subscriber
 
ckyuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 1,334
Thanks: 2
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

EDIT

Last edited by ckyuk : 02-02-2004 at 11:11 PM.
ckyuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2004, 10:11 AM   #10
Darkon
SM Alumni
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 509
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

If you go to Red Hat 9 like I did you'll need to follow these instructions (copy and paste from somewhere else)-

You need to install all the compatability packages that redhat 9 comes with. Maya was compiled against older versions of the compiler, and redhat seems to think that everyone will just upgrade the moment redhat comes with something new


Either way, install the compatibility packages (they're somewhere in the dist), and then you need to edit the maya startup script as such : (copied from a post by Mark Miller btw. =))



change this block :
----------------------------------
case Linux:
set lib = lib set lsFlags = '-l'
breaksw
----------------------------------



to the following :
----------------------------------
case Linux:
set lib = lib set lsFlags = '-l'
setenv LD_ASSUME_KERNEL 2.4.1 (your kernel version.)
breaksw
----------------------------------

Good luck and enjoy

Darkon
__________________
Red bellows of flame have blackened my stones
Convulsing my frame and cracking my bones
Hell's dragons of steel who roar in their chains
Crawl into my caves to suck out my veins.....

-The Mountain P.F.M.
Darkon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2004, 10:25 AM   #11
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Here's a little something to keep in mind too. I received this mail from RedHat on Jan 14th:

Dear Red Hat Linux 7.1, 7.2, 7.3 and 8.0 customers,

In accordance with our errata support policy, the Red Hat Linux 7.1, 7.2, 7.3 and 8.0 distributions have now reached their errata maintenance end-of-life.

This means that we will no longer be producing security, bugfix, or
enhancement updates for these products. Red Hat Linux 9 reaches end of life on April 30, 2004.

As our product family grows and expands, we want to help you
migrate to the Red Hat solution that is right for you. Whether that's one of our Red Hat Enterprise Linux products or the Fedora Project, our Red Hat Linux Migration Resource Center can help you find the Red Hat solution best suited for your needs:

http://www.redhat.com/solutions/migration/rhl/

The errata support policy, as well as our current errata and advisories, are available from:

http://www.redhat.com/apps/support/errata/

--the Red Hat Network Team
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2004, 10:33 AM   #12
Darkon
SM Alumni
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 509
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Very true! I'll be making a final Linux install disk right before 9 ends as well as backing up all the updates to that point. I'll give Fedora a look see but support is from the developers and not Red Hat.

Darkon
__________________
Red bellows of flame have blackened my stones
Convulsing my frame and cracking my bones
Hell's dragons of steel who roar in their chains
Crawl into my caves to suck out my veins.....

-The Mountain P.F.M.
Darkon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2004, 11:59 AM   #13
vladimirjp
Subscriber
 
vladimirjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: stuck in the 90's boston, USA
Posts: 1,871
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

darkon btw, is there also a way to include the MR custom shader via a script.
maybe in the maya start up too.
it's a bit fustrating having to do it ecerytime i turn on my workstation.
p.s. don't forget about the fCheck thing.
thanx

btw, fedora project is much faster than RH, for home use or professional use. so i'm not too sad to see RH go
__________________
Image dump

Last edited by vladimirjp : 06-02-2004 at 12:04 PM.
vladimirjp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2004, 03:22 AM   #14
Darkon
SM Alumni
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 509
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Maybe I'll give Fedora a look see then, have you installed Maya on it?

Darkon
__________________
Red bellows of flame have blackened my stones
Convulsing my frame and cracking my bones
Hell's dragons of steel who roar in their chains
Crawl into my caves to suck out my veins.....

-The Mountain P.F.M.
Darkon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2004, 01:09 PM   #15
vladimirjp
Subscriber
 
vladimirjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: stuck in the 90's boston, USA
Posts: 1,871
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

personally i have not. but i know other who have, and maya flies on it.
better openGL intergration .
__________________
Image dump
vladimirjp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 09:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 11:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.