Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 26-02-2004, 10:09 PM   #1
Jasi76
Subscriber
 
Jasi76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Rendering Problems

Hi,

I'm running Maya 4.0 on a P4 2.3GHz PC (Win2k / Service Pack 3) 1.5GB RAM

I'm trying to render some animation I've made for a showreel. All was working well up until today:

1) When trying to render the animation I get the error msg 'Cannot create render log file'

2) Also, when starting to render I get the msg 'render completed.CmayaRENDER Log.txt for info' but nothing actually renders.

I've rebooted several times. I have plenty of free Hard Drive space (30GB). I noticed that my local temp directory is quite huge (10GB of maya temp files). I don't know if this has anything to do with it though, or whether or not I need these temp files?

Any advice much appreciated.

Many thanks.
Jasi
Jasi76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-02-2004, 02:01 AM   #2
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

Shouldn't hurt to delete the temp files.

Usually when I see it "render complete" without rendering something, I have tried one of two things with almost always success.

1) This one generally doesn't work, but doesn't hurt to try. File > Optimize Scene Size.

2) This one usually works, although a bit of a pain. Select everything, export into a new file, render from there.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-02-2004, 11:49 AM   #3
Jasi76
Subscriber
 
Jasi76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi,

Thanks for the reply, will try that.

Regarding my first point:

"1) When trying to render the animation I get the error msg 'Cannot create render log file'"

Do you have any suggestions for that error at all?

Many thanks.
Jasi
Jasi76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
glass se7enhedd Lighting & Rendering 18 10-12-2010 02:27 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.