Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 10-03-2004, 12:04 PM   #1
Clod
Registered User
 
Clod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Ireland
Posts: 201
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default Compositing

I've made some hair with pfx but it's pfx isn't supported by mental ray so I've a bit of a problem. I was thinking of rendering the hair with the software renderer and the model with mr and then compositing them together. Is there way to store depth information so that when composited the hair will look like it's on both sides of the heads rather than just pasted on to the model image.
Clod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2004, 12:57 PM   #2
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

you can assign a matte material to your object when you render the pfx and it should mask out the gemetery and leave you with an alpha channel.

Make a lambert and then go to matte opacity and change it to black hole. That should then make sure you have the alpha correct.

Alan
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2004, 02:21 PM   #3
Clod
Registered User
 
Clod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Ireland
Posts: 201
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Cool, I'll give it a go.
Clod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2004, 04:59 PM   #4
grunze
Registered User
 
grunze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 117
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

There is an option for outputting z-depth when you render your scene.. I'm not sure if that will help or not..

Good Luck
__________________
Thanks,
Ari
grunze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2004, 05:07 PM   #5
deepakrock627
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: saudi arabia(Indian)
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

jsut dowload the trail
deepakrock627 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2004, 05:08 PM   #6
deepakrock627
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: saudi arabia(Indian)
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

just dowload the trail
deepakrock627 is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.