Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 15-03-2004, 09:49 AM   #1
matmonkfish
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 40
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default rendering shadows problem

Hi,
The problem that i have is when i render frames of my character i get jagged edges along the shadow lines (see attachment). I have rendered before and not had this problem and also have fiddled with the shadow settings of the ambient light and also the settings in render globals (raytracing shadows is on the highest setting)but cant seem to find the solution.
If anybody has any suggestions they would be much appreciated, thanks.
matmonkfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2004, 11:39 AM   #2
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

You need to post the pic again, it doesnt appear to have attached properly. It sounds like a map resolution problem, But if you're raytracing then that shouldnt be an issue.

Post the pic again and I will help you out.

Alan
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2004, 01:43 PM   #3
matmonkfish
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 40
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default attachment

here is the attachment (hopefully) thanks.
Attached Thumbnails
 
matmonkfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2004, 01:46 PM   #4
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

hmm that's weird, I've never seen anything like that before.... Hmm can you post a wire, I just wanna check if it's your geometry. How do the normals look/ that might cause such a problem. What light rig are you using? and are you using a toon shader?

Alan
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2004, 03:56 PM   #5
matmonkfish
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 40
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi,
i will be able to post a wire tommorrow. Thanks for the response, much appreciated. i am not using a toon shader but did have one on originally. I think the normals are pretty normal but will check that. I am just using 2 ambient lights there. Will get back with you tommorrow with wire.

Cheers
Matt.
matmonkfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2004, 04:30 PM   #6
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

dude that will be why then! ambient lights are the spawn of satan! Change them to directional lights. Bascially ambient lights will just flatten everything out and illuminate everything in the scene whether it's occluded or not. That will almost undoubtley be your problem Do you have shadow casting turned on for these lights? Ambient lights + shadows = major headaches!!

Alan
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2004, 06:39 PM   #7
matmonkfish
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 40
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thanks for that tip.
Will have a go with directional lights.

matt
matmonkfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-03-2004, 09:34 AM   #8
matmonkfish
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 40
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I tried directional lights and it seemed to do the trick. Is there any real differences in the 2 lights apart from the position of the ambient light being taken into account when calculating the the size of shadows?
matmonkfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-03-2004, 09:47 AM   #9
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

as I said above ambient lights = bad. You should never need to use an ambient light. It basically will flatten your entire scene out without doing much for it. What you need to remember is that ambient lights lights illuminate EVERYTHING equally, that's a bad thing.

Directional lights send light in from a direction (duh !) and thus will not illuminate everything equally. They have proper shadow information and specular information etc. Take a look in the help docs for an explanation about the different types of light. But let me just reiterate ambient lights = bad!!

Alan
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 07:26 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 11:56 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.