Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 14-09-2002, 10:12 AM   #1
toniobe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question subdivisions performances

maya runs so slow when editing vertex in polygon proxy mode.
Is there a way to increase performances ?
Is maya fully multithreaded ?
thanx
toniobe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-09-2002, 07:15 PM   #2
David
SM Site Programmer
 
David's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 2,991
Thanks: 49
Thanked 385 Times in 300 Posts
Default

I would assume Maya is multithreaded without taking a look at the code i couldn't tell ya and some how i really don't think Alias|Wavefront are going to give me a copy of the source.

Might help if you post your system specs maybe some benchmarks one mans slow is a another mans ultra speedy.

David
__________________
Worst Response To A Crisis:
From a readers' Q and A column in TV GUIDE: "If we get involved in a nuclear war, would the electromagnetic pulses from exploding bombs damage my videotapes?"
David is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-09-2002, 09:21 AM   #3
Bimbo
Registered User
 
Bimbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Czech Republic, Prague
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Maya is not fully multithreaded. You need very powerfull CPU for sofisticated SubD modelling. But what I use in this case is modeling without displaying poly proxy cage and it is fast enough But if you plan to animate Subd geometry using any deformer or binding it to skeleton, solve this problem on poly proxy base(with animating and other deformers for char. setup) and then bind SubD to skeleton and copy skin weights to Subd from poly proxy model, etc. ... I think you know about these methods enough ...
Bimbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2002, 12:52 AM   #4
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

From what I understand, Maya 4.0 and above is Multithreaded for rendering.

Not sure about modeling etc.
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2002, 10:11 AM   #5
Bimbo
Registered User
 
Bimbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Czech Republic, Prague
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yes, IPR render a nd final render are multithreaded ...
Bimbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-10-2002, 05:50 PM   #6
Grooveholmes
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I once heard someone say to expand your subd nodes in the hypershade and delete the blind data nodes. Apparently its supposed to speed up the process esp. in poly proxy mode. Mind you, i don't really know what the hell deleting those nodes does or if it will cause problems down the line.
On the few occasions that i've tried this i have noticed a significant performance improvement.
Grooveholmes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2002, 11:59 PM   #7
BabyDuck
Subscriber
 
BabyDuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,170
Thanks: 3
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Default

Originally posted by Grooveholmes
I once heard someone say to expand your subd nodes in the hypershade and delete the blind data nodes. Apparently its supposed to speed up the process esp. in poly proxy mode. Mind you, i don't really know what the hell deleting those nodes does or if it will cause problems down the line.
On the few occasions that i've tried this i have noticed a significant performance improvement.
expand subd nodes? delete blind data? can you possibly explain that in more detail?

and is it possible to work on the poly proxy w/o the constant updates on the subd level?
BabyDuck is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.