Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 24-03-2004, 08:23 PM   #1
JimmyC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 35
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Alpha Shadows

I have a plane in a scene textured with a texture containing an alpha channel (its basically an object on the middle of the plane, with a fully transparent area around it). I was told that any shadows the plane projects will take the alpha channel into account, but as it is the whole plane is projecting a shadow.

Is there something I'm supposed to do to get a shadow only from the non transparent areas of the texture?
JimmyC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-03-2004, 09:25 AM   #2
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

have you just got an alpha channel in your image or have you mapped it to the transparency channel? What I would do is get the texture's alpha channel and save it out to another file as a greyscale image. Then map that to the transparency texture channel. That will probably give yo ubetter results.

Let me know how you go.
Alan
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-03-2004, 04:46 PM   #3
fredriksson
Subscriber
 
fredriksson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 571
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Only raytracing works with alpha-maps so make sure your shadows are raytraced.
__________________
Björn 'santa' Fredriksson

<A href=http://www.bjornfredriksson.com>Site Online.</A>

Check out our 1on1on1 battle for the SandCrawlers.
fredriksson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-03-2004, 05:31 PM   #4
Darkware
Subscriber
 
Darkware's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,172
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

hmmm I tried it out with raytraced shadows just to see, but it didn't work. Without them, all you have is a shadow of your plane. With them, I can get no shadow at all. hmmm.....

edit*** bah... I see what I did. I just turned on raytraced shadows in the light attributes without turning on raytracing in render globals. =P
__________________
www.Darkware3D.com
Darkware is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-03-2004, 10:39 PM   #5
JimmyC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 35
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yeah i figured out that it only works with raytracing.

The problem is you can still see the outline of the plane in shadow. Ive read a tutorial that says you can fix this with shader networks (which I have no experience with). Is there any easier way?
JimmyC is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.