Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 31-03-2004, 09:26 PM   #1
Co0KiEmAn
Registered User
 
Co0KiEmAn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: NYC
Posts: 71
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default New CPU + Maya = ?

Has anyone upgraded their CPU before and had everything work except for Maya? I just went from a 2400+ to a mobile Barton 2500+ chip (OC's like a mofo). The chip is stable, 30 degrees celcius @ 2400mhz (200fsbx12)... I played around with different memory settings, modules, etc. The only thing that made maya stable again was putting my old CPU back in.

So, I'm wondering if I need to reinstall Maya with the new chip installed (it is a Barton, as opposed to Thoroughbred core). Any help would be appreciated.
Co0KiEmAn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-2004, 09:35 PM   #2
RickStefani
Registered User
 
RickStefani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 658
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I run a Barton 2500, but it is only unstable when I render a large scene
RickStefani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2004, 01:39 AM   #3
Co0KiEmAn
Registered User
 
Co0KiEmAn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: NYC
Posts: 71
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I was able to get into Maya, and I managed to render a nurbs sphere (vert fast ), however, whenever I loaded one of my scenes, they would load, and as soon as I tried to touch the time slider or tumble or something, it locked hard. Cursor wouldn't move...ctrl+alt+delete = nothing. etc...
Co0KiEmAn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2004, 05:44 AM   #4
Ultragames
Registered User
 
Ultragames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,113
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Uninstall, but leave the files there. Then reinstall. That should help.
__________________
Armitrex Studios
Now open!!
Ultragames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2004, 06:00 AM   #5
lonepig
Subscriber
 
lonepig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 392
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Download Prime95 and run the torture test, http://www.mersenne.org/ , if this locks up or reports errors then your system isn't stable and you need to alter system setting or upgrade your cooling.
__________________
www.snipersupplies.co.uk
lonepig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2004, 06:53 PM   #6
Co0KiEmAn
Registered User
 
Co0KiEmAn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: NYC
Posts: 71
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thanks for the replies! lonepig, I'll definitely give that a shot, however, I don't think it's an issue with stability as the program crashed at the default speed of 1.83 ghz. I also tried it with 4 different sticks of memory. I'm baffled... I guess I'll try reinstalling Maya when I get home.
Co0KiEmAn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 09:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 11:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.