Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 08-04-2004, 09:41 PM   #1
neopois
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default circular fillet and trim modeling

Hello
Here is a tutorial that show how to model with circular fillet and trim ..

---http://www.animagraph.com.br/DeathBrain/Modeling/Fillet_Trim_Tutorial.htm---

I've followed all the step carefully

I can't get a good looking render..there is little ''crack'' between trim and fillet surfaces.. how i can get rid of this gap between surface ?

If someone can help on that ..it would be very nice..

Thank you in advance..
neopois is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2004, 03:11 AM   #2
vladimirjp
Subscriber
 
vladimirjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: stuck in the 90's boston, USA
Posts: 1,871
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

increase tesselation
__________________
Image dump
vladimirjp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2004, 04:16 AM   #3
neopois
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ive set the tesselation to the max..like he say in the tutorial..

ive try to increase tesselation even more..but no difference..

that dont work..i cant have the same result..always gap between surfaces..:-(

thx for your answer , anyway..
neopois is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2004, 02:21 PM   #4
NitroLiq
Moderator
 
NitroLiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

You have to up the tessellation for all the 3 parts of the results from the fillet/trim (try 15 or so). This means the outer mesh, the fillet, and the inner mesh. You have to do this for every fillet trim. Also, be aware that this will only show up in a render....you'll still have the gaps in one of the working viewports (though I believe there's a box you can tick to view the tesselation there though it slows things down a bit).

Also be aware that this isn't correcting the geometry. If you want to get rid of the gaps, you'll probably want to convert to poly and start cutting and merging vertices to line things up.
__________________
"Terminat Bora Diem, Terminal Auctor opus."
NitroLiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2004, 01:21 AM   #5
neopois
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

yeah ive notice that the geometry doesnt line up perfectly and the parametrization isnt uniform for all the surfaces to meet..

do you think we can achieve a good tangency between the surfaces with the stitch tools ?

or i should absolutely convert to poly ?
neopois is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2004, 01:30 PM   #6
NitroLiq
Moderator
 
NitroLiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Easier to convert to poly.
__________________
"Terminat Bora Diem, Terminal Auctor opus."
NitroLiq is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletinŽ Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.