Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 14-04-2004, 10:46 AM   #1
rbotteon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Hard edges after smoothing polygons

Sorry for re-posting. Maybe this is the right one..

Hello everybody...

I have a question about smoothing polygons.

I would like to keep certain edges hard after smoothing. Maya has an option under smoothing where you can keep hard edges, but Maya keep them exactly as they were before smoothing while I would like them hard but refined.

An example: take a polygonal sphere with 8 divisions in both directions, make all edges soft then take a circle of subseguential edges and turn them hard. At this point select the whole object and smooth it with 2 divisions or more with the option KEEP HARD EDGES on. In the result you see the hard edges but instead of a nice circle you still see an octagonal shape.

Please help me.

Thanks in advance
rbotteon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2004, 11:35 AM   #2
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

use cuts and extrudes to make the edges more defined. You dont need to do the whole make soft and make hard thing.

See pic below, same cube with a smooth on it but the last one has cuts to keep the shape
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2004, 12:57 PM   #3
rbotteon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by Pure_Morning
use cuts and extrudes to make the edges more defined. You dont need to do the whole make soft and make hard thing.

See pic below, same cube with a smooth on it but the last one has cuts to keep the shape
Do you mean make very thin polygons close to the edge I want sharp edged?
I alredy do that, and it's the thing I would like to avoid.
If not could you be more specific?

Thank you and please be patient.

R.
rbotteon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2004, 01:01 PM   #4
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

that's exactly what I mean, why do you want to avoid it? get the MJPolyTools script, makes life much easier.

Alan
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2004, 01:15 PM   #5
rbotteon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by Pure_Morning
that's exactly what I mean, why do you want to avoid it? get the MJPolyTools script, makes life much easier.

Alan
Because it's not efficient if you have a bunch of edges to keep hard and if you still need to do some tweaking.

I discovered that the kind of result I want is reachable if I extract a region of poligons who's border share the edge I want to keep hard, then combine it with the original object, merge the vertices of the edges I don't want hard and then smooth.
But It's a tedious job too. Is there anywhere a split edge command?
rbotteon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2004, 02:55 PM   #6
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

polygons >> split polygon

Seriously download the MJPolyTools script and you can do a whole bunch of cool poly stuff with it, I use all the darn time believe me!

Alan
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2004, 03:06 PM   #7
rbotteon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by Pure_Morning
polygons >> split polygon

Seriously download the MJPolyTools script and you can do a whole bunch of cool poly stuff with it, I use all the darn time believe me!

Alan
Ok, obviously I know split polygon. I was looking for a split EDGE.

Let me check MJPolyTools.

Thank you Pure_Morning

R.
rbotteon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2004, 03:19 PM   #8
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

You can use the split polygon tool to split just one edge if you wish...
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2004, 03:34 PM   #9
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Ok, obviously I know split polygon. I was looking for a split EDGE
You can add a split to an edge by cutting the poly in half with split poly. Make sure you finish the edges off properly though or you will get weird smoothing problems.

Alan
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2004, 03:42 PM   #10
rbotteon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

This is what I mean with split edge:
Attached Thumbnails
 
rbotteon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2004, 03:49 PM   #11
rbotteon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

With these edges split, the result after smoothing is as follows:
Attached Thumbnails
 
rbotteon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2004, 04:02 PM   #12
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

yeah but that doesnt look right, and also you will get some nasty meshes like that if you dont remerge the verts. topologically it's not right and you will run into problems. See how you have dragged those two verts down on the side, those have created non planar faces (which are bad) You can achieve that look you have on the left by using polygons >> cut faces and moving the cut near to the top of the faces.

Alan.
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-2004, 07:28 AM   #13
rbotteon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by Pure_Morning
yeah but that doesnt look right, and also you will get some nasty meshes like that if you dont remerge the verts. topologically it's not right and you will run into problems.

Alan.
OK. There's no way to get the kind of result I want.

It seems that the only way is to make thin polygons close to the edges....PPRRRFFFFF...

Do you know what makes me go mad? With 3DStudio this is the easiest thing in the world. Look the following example, can someone tell me how can I get the same result with Maya?

Thank you guys..

R.
Attached Thumbnails
 
rbotteon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Getting angolare and round polygons together? Red_Roxxor Modeling 19 04-02-2011 03:50 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.