Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 02-05-2004, 06:31 PM   #1
mgeldert
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Convert subD to Poly Question.

I hope this question is not so dumb, no one will respond to it. But I am trying to convert a subD to Poly. I created a SubD sphere just to use to debug this problem. I then used "Modify>convert>subdiv to polygons", and selected the attributes window, I reset the parameters, then selected "vertices" for the "Tesselation Method" and "level" set to "0" and "Original Object" set to "Show". Then I select the "Apply" button. If I keep the viewport in wireframe I can see both objects but they are not separate. If I move one, I move both. I want to be able to move them separately. I tried to unparent them, and can not. I am new to working with SubD this conversion, and obviouly need your help very badly. I did try and use "F1" but the way Maya's Help reads, if I select "show" I should have two separate objects, HELP!!.
The actual project I'm working on has to do with skinning, and in this viedo they convert a SubD model (human) to poly, and they are able to move the poly and the subD is still there, separate, mine does not do that, so I tried it with a simple sphere and still no luck. Thanks in advance. 8-) Mike
mgeldert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2004, 07:49 PM   #2
owmyi
Registered User
 
owmyi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Somewhere out there.
Posts: 127
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Have you tried deleting the history on them?
owmyi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2004, 10:41 PM   #3
mgeldert
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi, Yes I have deleted History before and after the conversion, no luck. I also tried to select them separatly in the outliner and also tried to unparent them, but no luck. Are you able to create a subD sphere and convert as per my original link and then have the Poly and the orginal subD behave as two seaparte objects? Thanks for taking time for me!!! 8-) Mike
mgeldert is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.