Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 04-05-2004, 05:15 PM   #1
OER48
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Duplicating problem!!

Hello,

I am doing the T Rex tutuorial, when I try to duplicate the other side....it duplicates fine, except.... It isnt connected....I have to use move tool and bring it close and then use the merge edge tool to put it together?

Have you had this issue before?

Thanks for the help

Thomas Hazlett
__________________
Thomas Hazlett
OER48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2004, 05:26 PM   #2
Kurt
Registered User
 
Kurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Niagara Falls, Canada
Posts: 5,283
Thanks: 0
Thanked 64 Times in 64 Posts
Default

If you are just using the regular duplicate option the halfs will not be connected..... you would have to merge vertices... You can also use the mirror polygon option to do the same thing and would merge you to halfs together.

Also sounds like you center pivot is off when you duplicate.. causing you to have to move the geo over to line up...
__________________
I am enough of an artist to draw freely upon my imagination, knowledge is limited, imagination encircles the world. (Albert Einstein)

http://kurtboutilier.cgsociety.org/
Kurt is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2004, 05:30 PM   #3
OER48
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks Kurt....

It must be the center pivot....because anytime I made a new Nurbs object I would have to pull it through my image plane....It was always on the backside of the image plane.

I will try that.....did you see my issue in the technical section.....that just started up today.

Thomas Hazlett
__________________
Thomas Hazlett
OER48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 07:26 PM
apache environment problem andrew_sorensen Simply Maya Tutorials 4 08-12-2010 03:48 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 11:56 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.