Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 18-09-2002, 01:46 PM   #1
playmesumch00ns
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Fatal Error!

Both I and someone else have posted about this on CGTalk, without much success, so I was wondering if any of you guys know what this is all about:

The error message goes something like:

"Fatal Error attempting to save in C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\temp\14489047.ma"

well that's roughly what it looks like anyway, the filename may be wrong but I'm pretty sure it was a .ma

Now this has happened to me a couple of times recently. First time I had something running in the background so I put it down to that.

Second time, I was working on file for which I was using Incremental Save, with Limit Saves set to 20. After a while the save function stopped working, i.e. it generated a new file but it was all messed up: wrong materials in the wrong places and stuff. Anyway, I was in the middle of a complicated mapping operation and Boom! up comes the error message. So Maya closes, I start her up again when Boom! something like this:

"Maya.exe has generated errors and will be closed" (roughly) at which point my system hung so bad I had to reboot.

Now I saved the last good file under a new name and turned limit incremental saves off and so far, no more problems.

has anyone experienced anything like this before or know the cause?
playmesumch00ns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-2002, 03:19 PM   #2
mrmacca
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 374
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I can't really help you there mate. I've had the exact same error a couple of times though without using incrementel saves. When i restart Maya everything is fine though, no errors like you are receiving. This has only happened twice though and each time i actually did something i didn't mean to. The annoying part about this error is Maya makes no attempt to save your working file. I think in Max, if an error occurs and it has to shut down it tries to save a copy first.
mrmacca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-2002, 03:41 PM   #3
adldesigner
Registered User
 
adldesigner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: CCS, Venezuela
Posts: 3,363
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Originally posted by mrmacca
I think in Max, if an error occurs and it has to shut down it tries to save a copy first.
Find this one quite doubtfull ... since almost all applications try to close instead of saving (that´s why they are called fatal errors) lol

Anyway .. don´t want a flame thread here so .. that was my 2 cents.
__________________
adldesigner
Caracas, Venezuela
Hell .. not gone perse, but with a certainly lower post count per day.

adldesigner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-2002, 03:50 PM   #4
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

Maya does have a failsafe that saves a file to your project folder if an error occurs that the cpu is able to detect... however, more often than not, the error can over ride that failsafe and no save is made. I've run into this myself a couple of times. When it happens, just make a note of where the save was made and restart the computer. As with any program, crashes happen. There doesn't necessarily have to be any sort of good reason for it. :p
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-2002, 04:18 PM   #5
adldesigner
Registered User
 
adldesigner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: CCS, Venezuela
Posts: 3,363
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Originally posted by mtmckinley
Maya does have a failsafe ...
Hmm .. interesting .. might have spoken too early. Sorry.
__________________
adldesigner
Caracas, Venezuela
Hell .. not gone perse, but with a certainly lower post count per day.

adldesigner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-09-2002, 10:32 AM   #6
playmesumch00ns
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooh!
What a fool! I thought it was saying that a fatal error had occurred while it was attempting to save . I was thiking, well why the hell are you trying to save it? That makes more sense, but doesn't really help! Guess I'll just have to put up with it. Incremental Save is a life-saver!
playmesumch00ns is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.