Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 18-05-2004, 11:46 PM   #1
microchippy
Registered User
 
microchippy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default selection problems

when ever i marquee select some vertices on a object i also end up selecting the vertices round the back that i don`t want.how can i stop from doing this.

can anyone help?
microchippy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2004, 12:15 AM   #2
NNY Design
Subscriber
 
NNY Design's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Salt lake city
Posts: 158
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

when you drag a box around and area it will select everything in that box. So just click on the ones you want 1 at a time
__________________
An idea is delicate.
It can be killed by a sneer or yawn,
It can be stabbed to death by a joke
Or worried to death by a frown
On the right persons brow.
-Charles Browers
NNY Design is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2004, 12:25 AM   #3
dannyngan
Registered User
 
dannyngan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,154
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

If you're working with poly objects, you can turn on backculling in Display > Custom Polygon Display options box. That will prevent you from selecting vertices on the back of the shape.
__________________
Danny Ngan
Animator | Amaze Entertainment
my website | my blog | my job
dannyngan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2004, 05:09 AM   #4
Argonaut Jason
Registered User
 
Argonaut Jason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

And you can change it to Faces and Shift Select the ones you want, IF the model isnt too complex, if so dannyngan has the right way to go
__________________
Remember that a Shader DOES NOT mean to put your model out of a light source!
Argonaut Jason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2004, 09:29 AM   #5
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

or you can use the paint selection tool.

Alan
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2004, 08:51 PM   #6
microchippy
Registered User
 
microchippy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default thanks

thanks for the suggestions i`ll give them a try
microchippy is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.