Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 20-05-2004, 01:17 AM   #1
Binabik
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 50
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default show texture in viewport?

hi folks, somewhere along the line my brain has forgotten some of the basics.

I can get the texture on the object to show up in the viewport, eg the 'color' map.

say i want to have a look at where the displacement map node is on the object, how do i make that one show up in the view port on the object instead of the color one?

thanks guys.

Adam
Binabik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2004, 03:54 PM   #2
I-Iybrid
Simply Maya OG
 
I-Iybrid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Queensbury NY, US A
Posts: 1,438
Thanks: 2
Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts
Default

Hit the 6 key. 4 is wireframe, 5 is shaded, 6 is colored/textured, and 7 is lighting.
__________________
- Hybrid
I-Iybrid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2004, 11:12 PM   #3
Binabik
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 50
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hi there thanks for the reply but you misread the question.
I can already get textures to show up, ie at the moment, the 'color' texture shows up.
I need to know how to choose WHICH layer of texture shows up
ie, if i want to view the bump map, or the displacement map, or the spec map, in the viewport, on the object, instead of the color map.

thanks.
Adam
Binabik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-05-2004, 12:04 AM   #4
owmyi
Registered User
 
owmyi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Somewhere out there.
Posts: 127
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

As far as I know, the only way to get things like the bump and spec map to show up in the viewport real-time is with the High-res mode turned on, but it's only in version 6.
owmyi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-05-2004, 12:30 AM   #5
Dann
Registered User
 
Dann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 695
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

In the shader attributes, under hardware texture you can set which channel is displayed (color, bump etc.)
Dann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-05-2004, 02:02 AM   #6
Binabik
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 50
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ah ha!!

thanks dann, you're the mann
Binabik is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.